Day 1 -1st Challenge – Nifty 50!

I have a 50mm 1:1.8 Canon Lens – A nifty 50 which I brought to use with my Canon EDS60D DSLR and I really do not know what to do with it or how to use it properly… I know it is a fixed lens with great control over its depth of field, but I have never really experimented with it much, so for my first challenge is to go out with just this lens more often and see what I can photograph and how I can use it to develop my skill.

I took the nifty 50 along with me on a driving lesson with my 17 year old son… I was sat in the back of a Ford Ka and I just had time to experiment – I could not move back to get more in my shot so I had to think about my composure -about what I wanted to include and how to capture the moment…. it was tricky – low light in the car, uninspiring weather outside the window…. but I am pleased with the effect….

The photo was then added in Lightroom 5 and a simple black and white filter was applied as I felt it made the picture look more affective…

Photo Challenge 1

ISO 400 – Low Light
F5.6 1/10 Sec

