Day 6 – Nifty 50 – Low Light

This mornings dog walk was the only time today I would have had the chance to take a photo… it was overcast, damp and I choose a woodland walk…

Photo 1:
ISO 1600, F8 and 0.4secs – I focused on the 2nd barbed wire spike, with the idea of seeing the line of wire stretching diagonally through the image. I was hand holding and I was not steady enough despite the high ISO, which has left the picture with a grainy feel, so if this was the result I wanted to achieve – this is a great example of when a tripod would be needed – then as it is a static shot, I could reduce the ISO, decrease the shutter speed and keep it sharp. You can still see though how the aperture has affected the depth of field, with the photo softening in the distance.AperturePhoto 2:
ISO 1600, F4 and 1/80 sec – I focused on the same 2nd barbed wire spike, with the idea of seeing the line of wire stretching diagonally through the image, but drawing attention to the 2nd piece of wire, (this would have been much more interesting if it had a cobweb or a bit of lambs wool hooked on it). I was still hand holding and the picture has a grainy feel thanks to the high ISO, but you can clearly see how the larger aperture has affected the depth of field and the closer I am with the nifty 40 the more extreme the effect appears.Aperture

What’s next – I think I either need to try and nifty 50 as a portrait lens and take a photo of someone … or have a look at the effect of shutter speed on a moving image – we will have to see what opportunities occur tomorrow!

