Day 8 Playing with fire

Today  a quick shot with the nifty 50 and a bonfire. It is a moving object so I played around with shutter speed this time.

You can see the effect shutter speed this has on the depth of field, as the aperture changes – if you compare between the earlier and later images, the shorter shutter speed in the earlier shot captures the flame, dusty embers and as the time of the exposure increases – you can also see the movement of the embers (photo 2) till they almost disappear (photo 4) – you also see that the longer exposure time also impacts on camera shake – photo 4 is a lot less clearer as I moved and this impacts on the final image.

It is really interesting how the glow of the fire changes with the duration of the shutter speed…  personally I prefer the detail and movement of the 2nd photo. What do you prefer?

I really should dig out my tripod for longer shutter speeds as even 0.3sec is too long for me to hand hold comfortably, the other option of course would be to increase the ISO in camera to compensate.

ISO 100, F3.5 1/125
ISO 100, F3.5 1/125
ISO 100, F8 1/125
ISO 100, F8 1/125
ISO 100, F16 1/8
ISO 100, F16 1/8
ISO 100, F22 0.3sec
ISO 100, F22 0.3sec

I have no idea whether you are learning anything along with me – but already in my first eight days I am actively thinking about what I want the camera to do… and I think it is time to think about doing something different… a move away from the nifty 50 lens … either looking at my other lenses or experimenting with different ideas… let’s see what tomorrow brings.