Day 12 – Indoor Photos

I got given some flowers at the weekend…. so as I am stuck indoors today some quick flower photos:

1. Carnations – I love the colour

I upped the ISO so I could get a fast handheld shutter speed on my Canon Macro Lens EF 100 – I am so lazy.. would have been much better to get a tripod out and set the shot up properly, but I love the depth of field the large aperture gives… it is important though to look out for blemishes in the flowers… they are really noticeable close up!

ISO 800 f3.5, 1/40 - Carnations
ISO 800 f3.5, 1/40 – Carnations

2. Cabbage flowers…. objective feel the frame

I had a go at filling the frame with the flower… this is no way sharp and in focus enough to have any meaning… so that tripod really does have to put into use…. something I need to revisit during my year … however this experience is about learning more than the actual photos… so hopefully from these photos I will learn something new.

ISO 800 f3.5, 1/60 - white cabbage flower
ISO 800 f3.5, 1/60 – white cabbage flower
