Day 14 – Playing with Marbles and Exposure compensation…

Today I am limited to indoors again … so was thinking about what to photograph and found a marble left over from Christmas on my desk… and so today I playes with marbles, my Canon Speedlite 430 EXII and my 100mm lens. I wanted to get the marble looking like a specimen marble on a white background… so I placed it on on sheet of white paper in my conservatory… so loads of natural light from above and had a play round with the exposure settings on the camera.

Today I used a tripod :), and the same camera settings for each shot… ISO 100, aperture priority mode F5.6 and I dialed in three different stops of exposure.

ISO 100, F5.6 -2 exposure compensation ... 1/160 sec
ISO 100, F5.6 -2 exposure compensation … 1/160 sec
ISO 100, F5.6 no exposure compensation ... 1/40 sec
ISO 100, F5.6 no exposure compensation … 1/40 sec
ISO 100, F5.6 +2 exposure compensation ... 1/10sec
ISO 100, F5.6 +2 exposure compensation … 1/10sec

Marble HistogramsThe last shot is the kind of shot I was hoping although when looking at the histogram the image is still slightly under exposed, so although the background is whiter in is perhaps not as white as I would like it to be – you can see the histograms in more detail if you click on the thumbnail to the left.

Something else I had also not considered was the reflections that may appear in the glass when photographing marbles, I was on a table with a brick wall behind and my daughter’s sewing machine…. both clearing are shown in the reflection – so to improve the shot as well as ensuring the area which the object is placed is clear of distraction it is worth zooming in in camera when setting up the photo to look to see what is reflected in the final image.

In my first 14 days of this challenge, I think I am uncovering far more than I thought I would – I am beginning to realise to take an amazing photo takes a lot more work, planning and consideration than I first thought … and I only hope that I can keep it up.

