Day 15 – Composition Tips

Emma Davis has shared a great video on composition, to help make photos more appealing….

Composition tips to consider include:

  • The rule of thirds
  • Leading Lines
  • Framing
  • Single Focal point
  • Symmetry
  • Repetition
  • Colour
  • Triangles ( use odd number and position in triangles3’s and 5’s)

So far this year … I have not really looked at repetition or symmetry in my photos…. so that is something I should consider in future….

So today’s photo – stuck indoors again…  I tried to get the white’s whiter (a sheet of A3 paper) – this time using artificial lighting (it was early evening in the conservatory), on camera flash with a bounce card reflecting the light upwards and a tripod, after watching Emma’s composition video I also made sure the colours of the objects I photographed were complimentary, there was an odd number of objects – a natural triangle, that I had considered the focal point (the front bottle) and the rule of thirds … it is amazing how all these elements can come together.

Todays Lens was my Sigma DC 19-250mm lens 1:3.5-6.3 HSM – this is the lens I tend to keep on my camera the most, and I am really pleased with the shot.

Nail Polish
ISO 100, zoomed at 63mm, F5.6, O.4 secs with on camera flash.
One thought on “Day 15 – Composition Tips

Comments are closed.