Day 18 – Blue

Looking around online there are a number of Facebook groups that can support your photography, one of the ones I have recently joined offers a 52 week challenge, so although I am late starting I am going to try and include some of their ideas into my blog – as their weekly challenge may encourage me to think differently – today they announce a new theme “Blue”

Today I got to go out to give one of my teens a driving lesson, and as he is driving a blue car I thought it was the perfect opportunity to shoot something blue and cause I did not have a lot planned this afternoon to have a go at some HDR effects in Photoshop.  I used this video to help.

First this is the original photo with the number plate removed. This was taken at a normal exposure, I also took the same shot underexposed be 2 stops and overexposed by 2 stops.

ISO 100, 1/200 sec, F10 on a tripod!
ISO 100, 1/200 sec, F10 on a tripod!

I then opened all three images in photoshop, used the built in HDR filter, then ran a couple of high passes and followed the instructions in the video I shared… plus added a little details to the number plate to produce an HDR version of the photo – see below. Personally I think I prefer the original…

Today’s learning – once again is to consider backgrounds… I did not choose the parking space … my learner son did – but the building behind the image are very bright and cause a distraction, and it is interesting to see the building reflected in the car door – reflections turn up all over the place, so changing my angle, moving my feet or moving my subject – the car – could have lead this to being a much strong image!

HDR effect applied on Photo
Also I managed to take another photo at the Beach today which I edited in photoshop to add writing in the sand – so that I can finish the “Keep Living Strong” message I started yesterday with a calming sea. My finished image is here:

Keep Living Strong
Keep Living Strong
