Day 19 – Something Different

At the moment I feel this blog is filled with random photo opportunities and challenges… and I guess today that continues. Monday night is the day I go to my local camera club – tonight is a members night – which means that the program is being run by one of the more talented club members and hopefully it is an opportunity to try our or learn some new skills, in the program it says:

Practical Workshop/Technique Night  –  Lighting workshop – Marcin is kindly to going run a lighting workshop for us tonight. There will be models on hand, so bring your cameras and learn how to take great portraits using studio lighting.

Marcin Ciesielski does some amazing photos – you can see a sample of his work here, he has some amazing creative ideas and you  can see how the ideas come together on his facebook page.

So what happened?

Marcin ran through some of his setup and had four lights that he used that he was able to control from his wireless trigger that we all had a go with. I noted down the following pointers for another time…

  • Marcin was using a Prime Lens – 90mm – his favorite
  • Take a shot with one light – the catch light – a soft box in front and make sure the light is right in the eyes, the easiest way to do this is tethered to Lightroom as you can really zoom in (note to self, try if I can do this)
  • With no light on the background the background was black – the catch light was above and in front of CoCo the model – she looked amazing… she was very patient and her make up by AAB Makeup was beautiful.
  • Add the Back light – a strong light to the white background making sure it does not fall on the model, it really needs to be a couple of stops brighter … adjust till it looks right. By making the background white, watching for stray hairs etc makes it much easier to cut the model out to use in a composite image.
  • Add some fill lights – in the case of tonight, these were two giant soft boxes.

Photos from the evening

Looking at the computer to check the focus and the lights
Looking at the computer to check the focus and the lights
Marcin setting up the lights, and me timing my photo as the flashes went off!
Marcin setting up the lights, and me timing my photo as the flashes went off!
Having the camera tethered to the projector
Having the camera tethered to the projector
Credit to Mark Ball, taken on his photo ... this photo stars me, watching the set up ... and unusually I am smiling!
Credit to Mark Ball, taken on his photo … this photo stars me, watching the set up … and unusually I am smiling!
One of the club members taking their photo with Marcin's flashes
One of the club members taking their photo with Marcin’s flashes
The makeup was stunning - I took this photo whilst waiting... ISO 1600, no flas, 1/15 sec, F6.3
The makeup was stunning – I took this photo whilst waiting… ISO 1600, no flash, 1/15 sec, F6.3
One of my shots with the studio flashes - ISO 200, 1/200 sec, F8 - Manual mode. 28mm zoom
One of my shots with the studio flashes – ISO 200, 1/200 sec, F8 – Manual mode. 28mm zoom
One of my shots with the studio flashes - ISO 200, 1/125 sec, F8 - Manual mode. 43mm zoom
One of my shots with the studio flashes – ISO 200, 1/125 sec, F8 – Manual mode. 43mm zoom
One of my shots with the studio flashes - ISO 200, 1/200 sec, F8 - Manual mode. 63mm zoom
One of my shots with the studio flashes – ISO 200, 1/200 sec, F8 – Manual mode. 63mm zoom

I had a wonderful evening, I got to talk to lots of other photographers too – which is a little out of my comfort zone, but it is the only way I will be able to learn new techniques and skills – and I really appreciate the effort that went into this evening, and the good news is Marcin and Sylwia hope to workshops for small groups with models in the near future… which is really exciting news – so can I suggest liking their facebook page to find out more.

Marcin’s finished images were edited to make composite pictures – you can see how he added to the image below – all images are from his facebook page – please pop over and give it a like – his work is amazing 🙂 https://www.facebook.com/qpixels

© Quality Pixel Photography
© Quality Pixel Photography
