Day 24 – Knowledge helps…

Today we were out visiting friends … I had tossed my Nifty 50 in my bag and hoped to stop off on the way to their house to take some photos at an interesting location…. but we had taken more time to do things than planned this morning, so was suddenly left with the option to stop about 10 minutes from their home to take photos. We passed a distillery with lots of interesting structure that were shiny and behind railings that I though would be good to try… but the nifty 50 was too small to get a complete shot of the building so I focused instead of some bits that interested me.

First of all I played with my aperture controls on the railings surrounding the building … for artistic merit I prefer the shallower depth of field.

ISO 100, 50mm lens, F18, 1/15 sec and F4 1/200 sec - 2 photos same image to see what a difference aperture makes.
ISO 100, 50mm lens, F18, 1/15 sec and F4 1/200 sec – 2 photos same image to see what a difference aperture makes.

I then took a look at the whole building but was limited with what I could include in my frame. I have though not really looked at industrial buildings before in any detail .. so it was a chance to look at something differently …

ISO 100 50mm lens - F4, 1/1600 sec - the focal point was quite far away though so you cant's really see that well the impact on depth of field.
ISO 100 50mm lens – F4, 1/1600 sec – the focal point was quite far away though so you cant’s really see that well the impact on depth of field.

By looking more closely at the single funnels I then began to notice the shadows of the trees on them and tried to capture those in more detail, and I liked how the stairs could be used to fill the frame .. so I focused on some of the details. Details I would have missed if I just drove by!

PhotoChallenge-untitled-9836-Edit-1-2
A selection of shadows and industrial images

This is when today got interesting…. I was approached by a security officer and asked what I was doing … first she asked if I could move my car as I was parked near the entrance and if lorries arrived with a delivery I would be in the way and then she asked what I was doing… I was delighted to know that I was stood at all time on the pavement … so was on public land when I took the photos, but I did not use that in my argument I explained that I was doing a photography project aiming to take photos every day, and that when I got home I would talk about the pictures and see if I could use them to improve my photography! I then asked if she would like a look – and I flicked through the above images, and thanks to the 50mm lens you could see I was no photographing the whole building and they were all a bit vague – she was more that happy and wished me luck.

So my biggest fear of street photography this week was someone approaching me and questioning what I was doing…. it did not happen, yet I was questioned when I stopped on a road to take photos of a building … building’s can’t ask questions… although their security can … and I dealt with it – I had the knowledge that I was on public ground, I was confident in saying what I was doing, and I always had the option to delete them if it was a problem. I also had evidence of my purpose – this blog!

Today has really highlighted that knowledge helps:

  • Know where you can and can’t take photos – move your feet to ensure you are on public land
  • Be confident in yourself and non confrontational if challeged

 

