Day 25 – Early Mornings – Nifty or Wide…

This morning I was up in time to catch the lovely sunrise over the harbor of the town I live in, I went with my nifty 50, my tripod and my wide angle lens… hoping to catch the feeling of dawn over the water and to think about moving my feet and taking different angles with different focal points.

I have always thought that I preferred my wide angle lens for taking vistas and today I am not so sure – with the triop in the same spot – the 50mm lens seems to capture a stronger sunrise, more depth in the colours, the wider angle shot is too busy, too much distraction from the white boats and the sunrise is less concentrated almost too far away … which surprise me. So maybe I am coming round to liking my 50 mm lens more than I thought I would!

50mm lens, ISO 100. F8, 1/0 sec, tripod - 3From the Sailing Club, moving to somewhere new...
50mm lens, ISO 100. F8, 1/0 sec, tripod – From the Quay
10-2omm lens taken at 18mm, ISO 100. F22, 0.5 sec, tripod
10-20mm lens taken at 18mm, ISO 100. F22, 0.5 sec, tripod – Wide angle same tripod position!

Using the prime lens is all about looking around you, not looking at the obvious and capturing other moments too. So whilst enjoying the sunrise it was possible to look down on these rowing boats, see their reflections captured in the stillness of the water, the reflection of the clouds and the masts in the water and I was amazed how mush the coldest of the frost on the pontoon became apparent.

My other shot of the fishing boat, I wish I had took in a portrait direction as I chooped the top of the mask of on the boat and in the wonderful reflection, I think the colours of the boat are very calming, I love the vibrant pink of the buoys and their reflection in the water and how this adds to the highlights of the glowing sunrise in the water, I only wish I had moved my feet more or changed my depth of field as both the white shed and the white rebel boat cause a distraction, and lead your eye away from where I want to focus.

50mm lens, ISO 100. F22, 0.6 sec, tripod - Looking down
50mm lens, ISO 100. F22, 0.6 sec, tripod – Looking down
50mm lens, ISO 100. F22, 0.8 sec, tripod - Looking across the water.
50mm lens, ISO 100. F22, 0.8 sec, tripod – Looking across the water.

Different angles make different compositions, I walked further along to capture the Harbor Masters pontoon against the rising sun with some swans in the foreground – not just any swans – 3 swans, so a better number for photography as they form a natural triangle as well as adding a sense of depth and scale to the picture – I think…

50mm lens, ISO 100. F8, 1/260 sec, tripod - Sunrise on the Quay
50mm lens, ISO 100. F8, 1/260 sec, tripod – Sunrise and Swans

The two pictures below I used my feet, I walked down onto the harbor master’s pontoon as there was no one about and took my pictures from a different angle – the first looking towards this mornings sunrise, and the second – it is behind you, the view that greets sailors as they enter Lymington … I love seeing how the light changes as you move away from the sun, how this inpacts on the pictures and what a contrast it creates when the images are taken only moments apart. I also like how the buoys kind of represent the glow of the sun in the other picture … it just makes me smile!

50mm lens, !SO 100. F22, 1/25 sec, tripod - View from the pontoon
50mm lens, !SO 100. F22, 1/25 sec, tripod – View from the pontoon
50mm lens, !SO 100. F22, 1/4 sec, tripod - It is behind you - a different view from the pontoon.
50mm lens, !SO 100. F22, 1/4 sec, tripod – It is behind you – a different view from the pontoon.

My final photos of this morning was away from the harbor and on the sea wall, I had been out with my camera and the dogs for about an hour, and I took this photo just before I popped my camera away – first I walked round the corner and them saw 3 wild deer … no camera … and second it really brings home how much the light can change in a short period of time … how much this can influence the picture – I love the reflection of the tree in the foreground, but it looks like such a different day …

 50 lens taken at 18mm, ISO 100. F22, 0.3 sec, tripod - an hour or so later...
50 lens, ISO 100. F22, 0.3 sec, tripod – an hour or so later…
2 thoughts on “Day 25 – Early Mornings – Nifty or Wide…

  1. Beautiful photos, you are lucky to have such a location close by. I love photos around water and catching the reflections and the light. Very interesting and detailed post. I wish I had more lenses, as it currently is, I only have the 18 to 55 standard lens that came with my camera and that’s what most of my photos are taken on. I need to invest in more kit one day in the future.

    Like

    1. I think I have a lens collection – oops… but I am already learning that it is the weight, the usability of the lens and the picture quality that counts … Different lens can suit different purposes, but you also have to learn to take the most of what you have got….

      Thanks for taking the time to pop by and read my blog….

      Like

Comments are closed.