Day 26 – Perpendicular Photo Walk

I have been following Emma Davies #Remarkable2015 and her latest post talked about view point – view point connects the view with the photographer and she suggests that you consider some extreme viewpoints rather than just shooting an eye level…. her suggestions included:

  • Extreme angle
  • Extreme height (high and low)
  • Extreme perpendiculars – either straight up or straight down
  • Extreme close up

Today  took the Nifty 50 out, set the ISO to 100, set the Aperture to F6.3 and just took alternative straight up and straight down photos… I then started looking for patterns and items of interest which I thought would make a better composition… I  had to follow each skyward shot with a downward one… on a country walk that proved a challenge but it actually made me take photos I would not have over wise considered.

Photo Walk - perpendicular view. All at ISO 100, F6.4 various shutter speeds
Photo Walk – perpendicular view. All at ISO 100, F6.4 various shutter speeds

I am definitely going to consider my view point more in future… I have already gone low, but I can really see how you can create new dynamics and interests from what could be a bland experience…. and I really surprise myself of how I like the finished composition of this image – so thank’s Emma for challenging me to think of something new.

Street Light, ISO 100, F6.3, 1/250 sec converted to monochrome in Photoshop
Street Light, ISO 100, F6.3, 1/250 sec converted to monochrome in Photoshop
3 thoughts on “Day 26 – Perpendicular Photo Walk

Comments are closed.