Day 32 – Forest Walk

Today I went for  a forest walk…. in the afternoon so a darker light than normal… and heading towards dusk….  I love the dimpled effect I managed to capture in the water below, the intensity of the sky’s reflection. I would loved to have tried this shot today with a longer shutter speed – but I did not bring my tripod… Today’s lens of choice was my old favorite – my sigma DC 18/250mm lens.

ISO200, F13, 1/160 sec - 18mm focal length on 18-250mm lens
ISO200, F13, 1/160 sec – 18mm focal length on 18-250mm lens

This second picture is the view behind me in the first … it is actually the first picture I took – the light and the reflections are not as strong, which is a great reminder to move your feet and to look behind you and sometimes there is where the better picture can be found.  This photo in my opinion does not have such a great focal point, the difference between the foreground and background is not so obvious and therefore it just does not have as a strong a composition.

ISO200, F16, 1/15 sec - 35mm focal length on 18-250mm lens
ISO200, F16, 1/15 sec – 35mm focal length on 18-250mm lens

Finally a little bit of fun – this is my hubby playing around on a rope swing under the trees in low light, to I knew I would need to increase the shutter speed to capture the shot, so I changed to shutter priority (Tv) on my camera, choose a shutter speed of 1/200th second, and to get the widest aperture possible I had to increase the ISO to 1600 – I took four shots… this one was my favorite, I should have increased the shutter speed more though as it is not quite sharp enough …. I have edited it to remove the rope … as to me it looks like he is walking on the tree by magic, and weird … just wish his hands were in a different position too….

ISO1600, F4, 1/200 sec - 24mm focal length on 18-250mm lens
ISO1600, F4, 1/200 sec – 24mm focal length on 18-250mm lens
4 thoughts on “Day 32 – Forest Walk

    1. Thanks – it is hard work trying to do it everyday as editing the pictures is time consuming and I am sure my spelling sucks … but I have already learnt soo much!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks John – I like it too…
      I don’t want this project to take the fun out of my photography… and this to me is a great fun shot!

      Like

Comments are closed.