Day 34 – Lesson learnt

So I packed my camera bag before I went to bed – and then thanks to a friend posting on Facebook that there is a ring around the moon… I used it last thing to capture a circle of refracted light, and to read that it meant snow was coming soon…  highly unlikely as we rarely get snow….

Ring around the moon
Ring around the moon

And then I woke up this morning to a sprinkling of snow…. I was only hand holding and it was almost predawn with the grey sky acting as a giant white box… giving the snow a blue tinge – I was glad I had packed my colour balance cards so I could adjust the neutrals on returning home. There was not a huge amount of snow – more of a dusting…. so trying to capture the essence of the morning was hard – wide shots, were too dark and cluttered – too contrasty almost and just did not hold my interest.

!SO 3200, low light, F3.5, 1/50 sec 50mm fixed lens
ISO 3200, low light, F3.5, 1/50 sec 50mm fixed lens

Close ups were more fun, looking at the snow in detail – but the high ISO, shallow depth of field that I choose to keep the camera speed high as I was hand holding the camera with a Border Collie in tow whom had never seen snow before … detract from the image … although I particularly like the gorse flowers in the snow.

!SO 3200, low light, F3.5, 1/30 sec 50mm fixed lens
ISO 3200, low light, F3.5, 1/30 sec 50mm fixed lens
ISO 3200, low light, F3.5, 1/60 sec 50mm fixed lens
ISO 3200, low light, F3.5, 1/60 sec 50mm fixed lens
ISO 3200, low light, F3.5, 1/30 sec 50mm fixed lens
ISO 3200, low light, F3.5, 1/30 sec 50mm fixed lens

This is a stile, I climb over it every morning on my walk – this morning so one had climbed it before me… the snow was perfect resting on top…. like a fine dusting of icing sugar on a cake …

ISO 3200, low light, F3.5, 1/80 sec 50mm fixed lens
ISO 3200, low light, F3.5, 1/80 sec 50mm fixed lens

The lane on the way home – turned to monochrome to emphasis the contrast in colours … it needs a person init that to give a sense of scale and perspective … ideal stood at the end just before the house as then you will lead into the picture and stay there… I feel my eye is just left wondering around!

ISO 1000, low light, F6.3,, 1/25 sec 50mm fixed lens - more light.
ISO 1000, low light, F6.3,, 1/25 sec 50mm fixed lens – more light.

And finally for fun…. as I came in the gate at home one of my teens had built this mini-snowman…. photography is all about the fun!

ISO 1000, low light, F3.2, 1/00 sec 50mm fixed lens - mini snowman on the gate
ISO 1000, low light, F3.2, 1/00 sec 50mm fixed lens – mini snowman on the gate
2 thoughts on “Day 34 – Lesson learnt

  1. We have a dusting here too. I would suggest putting the Gorse flowers into a competition! I have spent the afternoon photographing woollen dolls for one of my new neighbours, will put some up when I have edited them. Also, loved the photos of Sparkie in the snow.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment … looking forward to seeing your photos too … great to hear you are getting on well with the new neighbours! Snow is all gone now…. so it really was the best sort of snow – not here for long!

      Like

Comments are closed.