Day 37 – Aperture and zoom

Emma posted another focus today for #remarkable2015, this time on Aperture – you can watch her videos on it here… and I really recommend signing up…  so today I headed out with my Sigma 18-250 mm lens (my old best friend in terms of lens) and had a play with the zoom function and aperture to enhance my understanding… The ISO for all images was ISO800 today, as I was shooting in the shade and handheld!

This first two photos are taken with my camera at a wide angle – so that as much of the picture is included. They both struggle with too much foreground and background to tell what the subject really is, but saying that the send picture with the widest aperture – F4, has a much shallower depth of field and you can see that the pine cones are what you are suppose to be looking at… you can also see how the grass and distractions in the background soften and become less intense.

ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 28mm in the shade. F25, 1/6 sec
ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 28mm in the shade. F25, 1/6 sec
ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 28mm in the shade. F4, 1/250
ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 28mm in the shade. F4, 1/250

Full zoom on the lens, so at 250mm and focusing on a relatively near object you can see more clearly the impact of aperture – at F29 – the maximum for the lens you can make out clearly the trees across the field but you can also see a number of lens marks and splodges which are really distracting as well as the droplets of water and the cobweb. The wider aperture, F6.3 (it can not stop down as low on full zoom), makes the depth of field more blurred and in this case really smooths the background, removing all the detail to make a calm and pleasing shot.

ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 250mm in the shade. F29, 1/15
ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 250mm in the shade. F29, 1/15
ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 250mm in the shade. F6.3, 1/250
ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 250mm in the shade. F6.3, 1/250

This is one of my two bored companions this morning – this is Mack .. I wish i could come up with a way to lighten his eye, but this shot of him sniffing around was all to do with getting low to the ground and playing around with aperture controls.  I have zoomed in a bit for this one, largest aperture was F5.6 – and you can see the depth of field with the foreground and background grasses softened – so you really need to be aware of how far into the pcture you need to focus.

ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 95mm in the shade. F5.6, 1/250
ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 95mm in the shade. F5.6, 1/250

This is my other companion – I love how the light was bouncing into his eyes – that is what I wanted with Mack – he was slightly closer to me, but I still wanted to soften the background and foreground slightly, so a shallow depth of field was used, large aperture, it was also important cause he was moving and the large aperture meant a higher shutter speed – but in this case it is maybe too shallow as it softens off on his second eye.  I thought about positioning with the photo and got down low – I like how he is looking straight at me, but my timing was off – as I took the photo he somehow rotated the twig so the branch towards me was vertical, straight across his face… grrr!

Time to another shot – not today… his interest was them off somewhere else….

ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 63mm in the shade. F5.6, 1/200
ISO 800, 18-250mm zoom lens taken at 63mm in the shade. F5.6, 1/200
