Day 40 – In the ring

I was practising background shots yesterday, cause an old friend contacted me and asked if I could help with her son’s media A-level homework and provide some photos for it, he was to provide the direction and he wanted some stills taken in a Boxing ring and in a car park … he has certain shots in mind… although he gave me very little direction … I had an hour, he told me how he wanted the shot and I tried my best to achieve it – and I am delighted with my first attempt…

This really tested me to the limit….

Equipment:

  • Canon 60d and Sigma 17-70mm lens
  • Tripod 🙂
  • Lighting stand and flash
  • Remote triggers for flash and umbrellas
  • Reflector

The first photo was taken in the car park in the dark… I used my torch to focus… then remote triggered the flash, the client was happy even though I feel the logo is a bit bright on the van… he is going work with that!

ISO 3200, F18, 1/250 sec manual with off camera flash
ISO 3200, F18, 1/250 sec manual with off camera flash

The next shots were inside the hall, I have never been in the hall before so was totally not expecting all the lights, the orange walls, and more…. aaahhhh! This is a brief shot on Aperture priority to give you an idea of the hall…. there was lots of other people using the building too that I had to work around.

ISO1600, F10, 1/8 sec ... the hall I was working in and the lighting!
ISO1600, F10, 1/8 sec … the hall I was working in and the lighting!

The concept here was boxer and girl friend looking at the ring… I used the flash to lighten up them and darken the background and the reflector to bounce light back at the girl… I used a white umbrella to diffuse the flash.

ISO 800, F10, 1/250 sec manual with off camera flash
ISO 800, F10, 1/250 sec manual with off camera flash

An action shot of the boxer training… this had to be staged as my flash did not recycle quick enough… this time it was a reflective unbrella closed down to direct the light, and the reflector was used – black size facing to block the mirrors that were too my right.

ISO 800, F8, 1/320 sec manual with off camera flash
ISO 800, F8, 1/320 sec manual with off camera flash

In the ring… some googling last night told me that you often looked up into the ring … they were kinds and turned some of the lights off at this point, left the boxing ring lights on for atmosphere and I had my light stand balance pn the edge of the boxing ring… and a reflector beneath them to bounce the light back into their faces.

ISO 800, F6.3, 1/320sec manual with off camera flash
ISO 800, F6.3, 1/320sec manual with off camera flash

My final picture is the boxer being briefed by the coach… we had problems with giggles and too much shadow being on the coaches face… but the client was happy with this one….

ISO 400, F6.3, 1/320 sec manual with off camera flash
ISO 400, F6.3, 1/320 sec manual with off camera flash

I would like to edit one of them properly… and I will when I have more time … but I really enjoyed it – loved the opportunity and am delighted with the results… all the flash practice recently has paid off in my opinion! Thanks for letting me help with the homework!

