Day 41 – Evening Sun or not…

My aim was to capture the evening sun over the beach just before my session at puppy school and I failed … the evenings have got lighter than I thought so there was no evening son… the sky was grey and pretty featureless – the sea was uneventful … so instead I just took a couple of photos and then cam home to have a play in Lightroom to see what I could do.

The first photo is just the sea and the horizon, at f29 lots of spots showed up on the sensor… so I need to either clean the lens or more sensor… I have edited most of them out. I think this is a very calming shot… and previously I would not have considered something like this to be a photo more of an abstract image… but you can have abstract photos!

ISO200, F29, 1 sec with 17-7.mm lens, 24mm focal length - resting on fence post!
ISO200, F29, 1 sec with 17-7.mm lens, 24mm focal length – resting on fence post!

This is the view from the cliff top. The next three shots are the same identical image but I have edited them in Light room with the idea on whether I could improve the picture, create a different atmosphere with a limited time to edit… I think the first image is cold, deary and grey looking… it does not inspire you to explore .. although you can see a couple making their way briskly along the beach.

ISO 200. 17-70mm lens, 28mm focus F29, 1.3sec - out of camera.
ISO 200. 17-70mm lens, 28mm focus F29, 1.3sec – out of camera.

This is a Light room present – “aged photo” – and think it meets the description, the same photo looks like something you may have found in the back of an old drawer, I think it still looks cold and even drabber if anything and still does not inspire me to want to explore.

ISO 200. 17-70mm lens, 28mm focus F29, 1.3sec - aged photo lghtroom preset
ISO 200. 17-70mm lens, 28mm focus F29, 1.3sec – bleach bypass lghtroom preset

Finally this last edit is my own edit in Light room….  I have added a couple of gradient filters, brightening the image, increase the contrast and tweeting the colour balance in those areas… I feel like the sun has almost come out, there is so warmth in the picture and maybe it is worth heading to the beach….

ISO 200. 17-70mm lens, 28mm focus F29, 1.3sec ,  adjusted in Lightrootm
ISO 200. 17-70mm lens, 28mm focus F29, 1.3sec , adjusted in Lightroom
2 thoughts on “Day 41 – Evening Sun or not…

Comments are closed.