Day 42 – my flowers

I thought I would share my flowers … I thought I would also play with aperture settings … then I decided to switch to manual and add a little flash (off camera).

The lens was my canon EF 100mm, I used a tripod and kept it in the same position almost throughout – except when the dogs knocked it and the flowers were on my windowsill with a grey overcast sky beyond, with a fixed ISO of 100.

F32 - 8sec
F32 – 8sec
F22, 2.5sec
F22, 2.5sec
F18, 1.6sec
F18, 1.6sec
F14, 1sec
F14, 1sec
F11, 0.6sec
F11, 0.6sec
F8, 0.3sec
F8, 0.3sec
F5.6 1/6sec
F5.6 1/6sec
F4, 1/13sec
F4, 1/13 sec

It is a really interesting exercise to complete, first you loosed the dirt on my windows (the cleaning thing again) and the the background drops out and then as the depth of field gets even narrower you loose the details in some of the flowers and leaves that are further away.

Based on the last couple of days of experimenting I then decided what happens if I add off camera flash and OMG, I love it … the first with the light focuses on the flowers it darkens the background, an amazing reflection appears on the glass window behind and it is the kind of photo I would love to send on a birthday day…

F8, 1/200 sec - off camera flash
F8, 1/200 sec – off camera flash

Moving the angle of the flash creates a whole different result, there is real depth added to the roses, the light catches the detail in places and it looks like it is almost lit be a ray of sunlight although it isn’t…

F8, 1/200 sec - off camera flash
F8, 1/200 sec – off camera flash

Lighting from behind my final shot from today and the next thing I need to look at with the flash – amazingly another totally new look.

1/250 sec, F2.8 off camera flash
1/250 sec, F2.8 off camera flash
