Day 44 – Aperture Challenge

#Remarkable2015 suggested that it was a great idea to do an Aperture exercise with your camera … so today I had a go … in the first instance I used my 100mm canon prime lens – I focused on the red candle in the middle of the staggered line, kept the same focus point for all the photos and used a tripod. The candles are in a diagonal line going away from me and slowly decreased the size of the aperture …  f2.8 is the widest aperture, the red candle is the only one that is really in focus… the background and foreground is blurred and darker and the movement if the flame is quite distinctive… as I the aperture gets smaller, the time the shutter opened increased and more movement can be seen in the flame due to the longer shutter speeds.

Canon 100mm prime lens
Canon 100mm prime lens

This second series of photos is the same lens but I position myself much closer to the candles, the same focus point… but not so many candles in shot. Here you can se the time delay… the candles are much shorter than in the first series of photos, but because I am closer the depth of field is much more apparent… it is a macro lens, and you can see that it benefits from being closer to the subject and the detail – but with the smaller apertures you can still see so much more movement in the flames.

Canon 100mm prime lens - positioned closer
Canon 100mm prime lens – positioned closer

Same setup, different lens – my sigma 18-250mm lens focused at 120mm, I was trying to get a similar shot to shot 1 above.  The zoom lens lens at this aperture does not have such a wide aperture to go down to, but it does have a narrower one – which surprised me. I was at a similar distance to the first shot, and once again you can not really tell that the candles are on different planes other than the amount they are in focus, the longer zoom and the distance seems to compress them together.

Sigma 18-250 mm lens at 120mm
Sigma 18-250 mm lens at 120mm

Same lens, but moved closer and at 63mm zoom, I have the whole range of candles in the shot but I can’t get sure a small aperture this time, but at the same time I can get a wider aperture… so the lens functions differently depending on the amount I have zoomed.  The depth of field is not as share on the 100mm lens but the widest apertures appear to create a lovely bokeh behind, whereas on the 100mm lens at a smiliar distance there is not enough light to reach the background.

Sigma 18-250 mm lens at 63 mm - positioned closer
Sigma 18-250 mm lens at 63 mm – positioned closer

The blog does not really show the photo detail that well… but if you click on any of the photos you can take a look – why not give it a try yourself?

f2.8 - the widest aperture and one of my fav shots today!
f2.8 – the widest aperture and one of my fav shots today!
