Day 47 – mini flash

Treated myself to this – off camera umbrella flash… as I have discovered I enjoy using my flash off camera and I wanted a portable flash solution – I am not sure yet whether it is any good, but I am going to have a play with it over the next few years in various locations… first – what does it look like?

ISO 100, F6.3, 1/200 sec - Manual mode with off camera flash!
ISO 100, F6.3, 1/200 sec – Manual mode with off camera flash!

Today’s photos were taken in my daughter’s bedroom, looking into her full length mirror with the flash placed within an arms length of me using my 18-250mm zoom lens. The flash was on 1/8 power – manual mode too… as TTL does not work with my wireless triggers and my idea was to take a selfie that could possible be used as a facebook profile picture, but to also experiment with how the position of the flash effects the end result.

ISO 100, F6.3, 1/200 sec - Manual mode with off camera flash!
ISO 100, F6.3, 1/200 sec – Manual mode with off camera flash!

Above – a zoomed in shot of me, focused on the camera with the flash to the side… my hand holding the camera is in shadow and you can see that the light is brighter on the left of the image.

Below – I moved the flash so it was pointing upwards, my neck and the base of my hand are lit more and my forehead is in darkness.  the background seems darker too … it is interesting how such a small move can make such a big impression and impact on the image.

ISO 100, F6.3, 1/200 sec - Manual mode with off camera flash!
ISO 100, F6.3, 1/200 sec – Manual mode with off camera flash!

Below I have zoomed out and used a wider camera angle… you can see that I am not square to the mirror, and you can see my daughter’s hands in the background. I love how my hands and face are let in this photo and how slim it makes me look – 2 years ago I was about 5 1/2 stone heavier – I have included this shot because what interests me most here is the shadow … the flash is directed towards the mirror and me, and is more of a bounced light and in the background you can see the effect of this with the large shadow my daughter has cast…. it is amazing how far light can be thrown.

ISO 100, F6.3, 1/200 sec - Manual mode with off camera flash!
ISO 100, F6.3, 1/200 sec – Manual mode with off camera flash!

This shot has the magic of a catch light in my eye… it is a little wide and the shadows caught in the mirror are a little odd.. I am not sure what they are – so another lesson needed on keeping tidy and watching for clutter in the backgrounds … but this is where lightroom and photoshop cane be useful.

ISO 100, F6.3, 1/200 sec - Manual mode with off camera flash!
ISO 100, F6.3, 1/200 sec – Manual mode with off camera flash!

The final image – a square crop, tweaked the white balance, replaced the background and I am pleased with it… a great first go at portable off camera flash in my opinion.

Finished Edit of me :)
Finished Edit of me 🙂
