Day 50 – Capturing the rain

Not much time for taking new photos today … and as it’s raining… I have captured the rain with the old nifty 50. In the first image I wanted to capture the raindrops on my window – essential for this was a wider aperture – shallow depth of field so that I the garden in the background was out of focus.

ISO 125, F2, 1/125 sec - no flash but with a tripod.
ISO 125, F2, 1/125 sec – no flash but with a tripod.

Next I got down low and tried to capture the raindrops on the patio … I kept to a shallow depth of field as I aimed to focus on a particular area of the patio, with the idea that the background would be blurred out and the detail would be where the raindrops landed.

ISO 125, F2, 1/250 sec
ISO 125, F2, 1/250 sec

This one had much better timing, but raindrops are totally unpredictable, there is not regular timing, no regular landing spot – so getting the right shot is down to trial are error….

ISO 125, F2, 1/320 sec
ISO 125, F2, 1/320 sec

Ideas for the future:

  • Capturing drops
  • Capturing rain – grey lines of water … so you can tell it is raining
  • Looking in raindrops … reflections!
