Day 51 – Depth of field and distance

Today I conducted an experiment – that it what this blog is all about – learning and experimenting with photography. So today I looked at how moving my feet, changing the camera angle and the distance from the image I wanted to photograph effected the depth of field.

My equipment

  • Plain white A4 paper as background
  • The necklace I was given on Valentine’s day
  • My canon 60D, handheld with no flash but in a room lit well with daylight (conservatory)
  • My canon 100 mm lens – fixed length, set at 0.31m focusing ability.
  • Camera settings – ISO 100, F2.8 , Aperture priority – so the time the shutter was open varied slightly.
Fixed length lens, ISO and Aperture - what happens if you move your feet!
Fixed length lens, ISO and Aperture – what happens if you move your feet!

Observations

  • The closer I am to the object the stronger the depth of field, and the less of the image that is in focus
  • The further away I am, more of the focused object (I focused on the “o” each time) is sharp
  • Depth of field /Aperture control is essential to get right when you are working close up to images.
