Day 52 – Landscape Images

Today I went for a walk along a lovely local beach which after seeing today’s photos – I don’t visit enough … I took with my camera, Tripod, 18-250mm lens and a 400ND neutral density filter which I could use to extend the shutter speed in some of the photos. It was lovely to be outside, enjoying the fresh air and capturing moments of time.

This is the view behind me – the placement of the dog is wrong… but I was inspired to take it by the colour of the gentleman’s jacket – the power of red… it really compliments the blue sky and draws your attention to the people in the image.

ISO200, F18, 1/160 sec
ISO200, F18, 1/160 sec

The reason I wanted to visit Lepe was to see this structure in the water, known as the “Dolphin”, I wanted to know where it was so that I could see for myself whether it is worth photographing in the right light conditions.  It is a lovely shape, and depending upon where you stand on the beach you can see different numbers of legs. The sun was really bright today – so I used an ND filter (ND400) to enable me to slow the shutter speed down and create a smoother effect on the water.

ISO100, F22, 4sec , ND Filter
ISO100, F22, 4sec , ND Filter

The next two images involved me getting very close to the water, with the camera on the tripod and choosing a small aperture so that the distance was in focus too. He you can clearly see the effect of the Neutral Density filter in enabling me to keep the shutter open for so much longer. I am not sure though I have worked our how to change the colour balance to work best with this filter though.

ISO 100, F22, 8 sec plus ND filter
ISO 100, F22, 8 sec plus ND filter
ISO100, F16, 1/80sec
ISO100, F16, 1/80sec

Giant bars of chocolate on the beach – I wish … that is what these slabs of concrete remind me of. Here I am stood on the shore looking up the beach which makes the contrast between the rusty pillars and the blue sky much more prominent. The “dolphins” and concrete are remnants of war and are left over from the D-Day landings.

ISO100, F5, 1/800sec
ISO100, F5, 1/800sec

Below is another photo of the “Dolphins” – this is a great example of how moving your feet, changning your view point can effect what you can see – this time the four legs are much clearer, the colour of the Dolphins is apparent and the wooden stakes on the foreground lead you into the picture.

ISO100, F16, O.8sec ND filter
ISO100, F16, O.8sec ND filter

Photography is also about capturing the moment. This young man was jumping off the sand dunes and doing backwards somersaults. I asked to take his photo and he agreed. I upped the ISO to enable me to get a faster shutter speed, and choose a wide aperture – but I should have chosen to switch to shutter priority (I rarely use that – and need to learn) and took this shots rapidly, unfortunately because I aim shooting in the highest raw setting, the camera lag time stopped me capturing the landing. The series of photos I took have been stacked onto on each other in photoshop, and then reduced in capacity to allow the background shots to show through.

ISO 500, F5.6, 1/100 sec - burst mod - 4 photos merged together.
ISO 500, F5.6, 1/100 sec – burst mod – 4 photos merged together.

Another moment captured. I had to zoom in to capture these tiny birds balancing on the wood along the shoreline. They really blended in with the background, and if it was not for the dog frightening them off, I would have liked to try a couple of different angles … I think if I had got lower this shot would have been more powerful!

IS0200, F6,3, 1/800 sec - zoomed and cropped.
IS0200, F6,3, 1/800 sec – zoomed and cropped.

Same beach – totally different view – this time of the “Watch House” which sits on the foresaw and directs your vision across to the Isle of Wight beyond.

ISO200, F20 1/250 sec
ISO200, F20 1/250 sec

The Lighthouse – these two shots fascinate me … they were taken at different apertures and with different light although only 1 minute apart – the first had a shallow depth of field, the second a much smaller aperture and I had moved my feet so that I was on a bank and looking down on the lighthouse more… whereas in the first shot I am looking up – you can see the difference in angle when you look at the weather-vane on top of the lighthouse, the clouds and the detail of the Island behind – I had not realised how much difference moving can make, also how much difference clouds can make on the amount of light on the focus object – in the first photos the side of the lighthouse is highlighted in the sun, whereas below the sun is not as prominent and picture overall is darker but the shadows are less prominent too.

ISO 20, F5.6 1/400 sec
ISO 20, F5.6 1/400 sec, 28mm zoom
ISO 200, F16, 1/125
ISO 200, F16, 1/125 18mm zoom

The Daily Post – asks today for ” your dream tourist destination — either a place you’ve been and loved, or a place you’d love to visit?” – I would have to post that I live in the best area … it is a dream destination for other people and I suggest that if you are reading my blog you really should come and Explore the New Forest.

2 thoughts on “Day 52 – Landscape Images

    1. Thank you for taking the time to comment!
      You can do it… even if you take follow the challenge taking photos everyday helps!

      Like

Comments are closed.