Day 53 – White balance

Today on my facebook feed was an article all about “White Balance” and I have used that as my inspiration to experiment with a pot of Primroses recently given to me by a friend. I took two photos today – one of the white balance cards I own in front of the primroses and one of the white primroses in a pu on my dining table, lit only with window light.

I took the image in raw with my canon 100mm lens, IS0 100, F2.8 for a nice shallow depth of field, and at 0.3sec exposure. I then look the image into Lightroom, created virtual copies of the image and changed the white balance on each photo.

These are my results.

White balance - As Shot - Temp 5200, Tint +31
White balance – As Shot – Temp 5200, Tint +31

The effects of changing White Balance settings.

White Balance - Shade -Temp 7500, Tint +10
White Balance – Shade -Temp 7500, Tint +10
White Balance - Daylight - Temp 5500, Tint +10
White Balance – Daylight – Temp 5500, Tint +10
White Balance - Fluorescent - Temp 3800, Tint +21
White Balance – Fluorescent – Temp 3800, Tint +21
White Balance - Flash - Temp 5500, Tint 0
White Balance – Flash – Temp 5500, Tint 0
White Balance - Cloudy - Temp 6500, Tint +10
White Balance – Cloudy – Temp 6500, Tint +10
White Balance - Auto - Temp 5450, Tint +30
White Balance – Auto – Temp 5450, Tint +30

My “As Shot” setting was similar to Auto… but was selected by the camera.
The most accurate – I am not sure… these are my white balance cards – they came from here. I used the grey card – the bottom one to select the White Balance for my final shot.

My white balance cards.
My white balance cards.

Final image: The tent is halfway between cloudy/shady and daylight – which would makes sense, natural light shining in through the window on a cloudy overcast day. The temperature of the light is halfway between flash/daylight temperature and cloudy.  In this case the “Auto” setting most accurately represents the colours of the end image – but it also highlights that if you are reproducing images for a particular reason and need to show off the colours accurately – it is essential to get the white balance settings right.

I think I may have a go at using my white balance cards more often 🙂

White Balance - Custom - based on White Balance Cards - Temp 6000, Tint +14
White Balance – Custom – based on White Balance Cards – Temp 6000, Tint +14
