Day 57 – coffee and cookies

Today was a baking day … so I made cookies and thought I would share them with you… they taste amazing – you can choose between a caramel biscuits with only 4 simple ingredients or coconut and lime cookies… but what gets me if why do my biscuits never look like what they are suppose to look like – I think I am less measured … but anyway they taste great!

  • I used a tripod
  • 50mm fixed lens
  • Speedlite on camera
  • Manual settings, which in the top photo I increased the shutter speed to experiment
  • I had window light  coming in from the right.
ISO 100, F3.5, 1/1600 sec, Manual, high speed speed lite flash on camera
ISO 100, F3.5, 1/1600 sec, Manual, high speed speed lite flash on camera

The above photo shows a deeper depth of field … I was further away… I was shooting slightly from above … and you can see that I have not filled my cup with coffee – total failure – you can tell … I also have reflections on window light on the worktop, something reflecting in the mug and by showing the writing you are curious about what it says – it draws your interest rather than the cookies! I did you the flash – but had dialed it down a couple of stops to see if I could keep the background darkish…

Below – I changed angle – you can’t see the cup is empty … I changed mugs too as I thought the complimentary colours from this angle worked better with my kitchen tiles. I have turned the mug so the writing can’t be seen and angled the flash and had it on normal strength  so that you had more contrast and a much lighter background. I also moved the tripod closer so you can see my variation in the depth of field.

ISO 100, F3.5, 1/1250 sec - manual highspeed flash spreed lite on camera.
ISO 100, F3.5, 1/1250 sec – manual high speed flash spreed lite on camera.

Conclusion for today, small changes can make big differences – experimenting with your camera is essential to understand these changes, and eating all the cookies is not good for my waist line – but they do taste great!

