Day 58 – Capture the event

Today I took my mum along to the “Make it” and “Knit & Stitch” event at Farnborough, I wasn’t sure whether I would be able to take photos or not, but I wanted to try if I could perhaps capturing some of the colour of the event,  some of the characters, or even some of the atmosphere. I knew it was an indoor event, and that it may be crowded so I choose to put my Sigma 17-70mm lens on my camera … with the assumption that I may have to be close up to what I focused on.

One of the things I tried was filling the frame with colour. I loved the way the material was haphazardly piled up, and how the material behind made a great background with the camera down low…  the beads showed great colour and an interesting pattern, although looking at now they labels are too distracting, and I feel my depth of field was too shallow… and the coloured paper is really bright and colourful, but may have been stronger if I was able to take it more horizontally…

ISO400, F2.8, 1/400sec - material rolls
ISO400, F2.8, 1/400sec – material rolls
ISO 400, F3.5, 1/125sec - Colour Beads
ISO 400, F3.5, 1/125sec – Colour Beads
ISO 400, F4, 1/125 sec - Colour Papers
ISO 400, F4, 1/125 sec – Colour Papers

I then tried to capture movement, the action and atmosphere of the exhibition hall …

ISO 400, F3.5, 1/500 sec
ISO 400, F3.5, 1/500 sec

My mum was concerned about how I could capture pictures of people I did not know – when you see the above photo taken at a 17mm focal length, you can see that the subjects got really close to the camera without noticing, the trick I think is to hold it low and use it with confidence – no one challenged me, and some people even offered to move out my way or waited if I had the camera near my face… so more candid shots needed to be done discretely, with the camera low and using the live view mode.

I turned down the ISO to as low as I could for my camera and I increased the shutter speed by increasing to the widest aperture … it was a bit risky as I was hand holding, but by getting down low and resting the camera on me as I sat still on the floor, I got some interesting results.

ISO200, F20, 0.5 sec - notice the pink shopper stays still while others move.
ISO200, F20, 0.5 sec – notice the pink shopper stays still while others move.
ISO 200, F29, 0.5sec
ISO 200, F29, 0.5sec – the wheelchair stays still, well the people mover around…
ISO100, F25, 2secs
ISO100, F25, 2secs – lots of ghosts of non-existent people on this longer shutter speed.
ISO200, F20, 1 sec - I like hos the bright colours draw your attention.
ISO200, F20, 1 sec – I like how the bright colours draw your attention.

I like how you have got some people moving and others are more static, it was interesting to notice that people appeared to move more when they got closer to the lens, and I was surprised I was able to do this without a filter on the camera… considering how light it was.

Then I focused on the people there, at times I wish I could get closer with my zoom, but I couldn’t, and I found it really interesting watching the interactions and behaviours of different people. I never realised what a bland colour palette crafters are – you would have thought with that creativity following through them, they would stand out slightly more…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today highlighted you can develop your photography skills anywhere, people really don’t notice, the interactions between people are interesting and can tell their own stories, some people are more interesting and less bland than others, eye contact or perceived eye contact can make a picture stronger,

