Day 64 – The moon

Following on from yesterday’s photo in the dark … today I took a photo of the moon .. just so I could remind myself what settings to use to get a good moon picture.

  • Tripod
  • Sigma 150-500 mm lens
  • Manual Settings, ISO100, around F8 and then shutter speed varies on the amount of light available…. the trick is not to over expose the moon, and to record the detail on it.

At full zoom – I had some camera movement, as the moon is now always in the same place within the frame. The clouds were moving quite quickly across the moon, some added interest to the photo – although it would have been a much stronger photo if I consider shooting with a silhouette in the foreground, by increasing the time of the exposure, you begin to see the clouds around the moon – but the moon itself becomes overexposed.

ISO 100, F8, 1/40 sec
ISO 100, F8, 1/40 sec
ISO 100, F10, 1/5sec
ISO 100, F10, 1/5sec
ISO100, F10, 1/320 sec
ISO100, F10, 1/320 sec
ISO100, F9, 1/320 sec
ISO100, F9, 1/320 sec
ISO 100, 1/200 sec, F8
ISO 100, 1/200 sec, F8

I think these photos hightlight the need to for check the LCD screen on my camera aftershooting, as it can really help me in manual mode see if I have got the exposure right … in the case of the moon, the histogram can’t tell me whether I have the shot right as the shadows and highlights are too different – there is no inbetween … it really is a case at looking – seeing if I cam close to the shot I desire, and editing the settings a little bit to get the exposure and details correct.

One thought on “Day 64 – The moon

Comments are closed.