Day 90 – Another Birthday

Today we celebrate another birthday in my household, and although the person celebrating is not into photography who could resist purchasing this cool birthday wrap and photographing the presents. This was an experiment with my nifty 50 lens and my off camera flash, shot with the aid of a silver coated umbrella and the flash on low power directing the light.

I have not really thought about whether I can create directional light with my flash … but today’s images show it is possible. I used my studio, shot the photos in the dark with a large aperature, ISO 100 and 1/250 sec shutter speed through out – the camera was on the tripod with a 2 sec delay on the shuutter so I could move the flash around.

And wow… look what moving the flash light can do to the shadows and the background of these images.

A selection of images taken by only moving the flash position
A selection of images taken by only moving the flash position

This is my favourite one – I desaturated the colours a little to give a more vintage feel, and I think it works, shame the paper is now trashed as he is opened his presnets.

Flash experiments with my Nifty 50
Flash experiments with my Nifty 50
