Day 99 – Feeling Fruity

Pear and Bulb Photography posted the other day with their images of fresh vitamins – staring fruit, and I thought this was a great idea to take into my new studio and to experiment with, and to do my own interpretation of these images with some fruit I have sat in the fridge.

My set up today included:

  • 100mm canon macro lens
  • Tripod and 2 off camera flashes
  • A square vase, some mineral water (with not much fizz), some fruit and some cocktail sticks/skewers to hold the fruit slice in place on the side of the glass.
ISO 100, F5.6, 1/250 sec - Fresh Orange.
ISO 100, F5.6, 1/250 sec – Fresh Orange.

I went closer so that I could crop out the vase, so if looked like the fruit was just suspended in space.

ISO100, F5.6, 1/250 sec - Fresh Lime.
ISO100, F5.6, 1/250 sec – Fresh Lime.

I am not sure I was focused quite right – but it was interesting to note that the thickness of the fruit and the colour of the segments affects the amount of light that shines through.

ISO 100, F5.6, 1/250 sec - Fresh Lemon cropped in close.
ISO 100, F5.6, 1/250 sec – Fresh Lemon cropped in close.
ISO 100, F5.6, 1/250 sec - Orange quarter - a much more vibrant composition.
ISO 100, F5.6, 1/250 sec – Orange quarter – a much more vibrant composition.

I then edited the images in photoshop to see what else I could create and if I could merge the three different fruits toghether to make a different composition and I cam up with these two images:

Suspended fruit
Suspended fruit

Oops – the lemon was full of pips – I did not think it mattered when I was taking the photo but now that I have edited it, i feel that your eye is drawn to the pips … next time I shall choose a lemon with no pips!

Sparkling Water with just a hint of fruit.
Sparkling Water with just a hint of fruit.

I need to play with this some more … come back tomorrow as I have had another idea…

5 thoughts on “Day 99 – Feeling Fruity

    1. Yes, I used cocktail sticks to press the fruit against the glass, if I did not the fruit wouldn’t be flat on … I am going to try dropping fruit in and doing sharp speed experiments eventually … but am going to try drops first… have an idea for that which should appear soon!

      Like

Comments are closed.