Day 100 – Fruity Friday Flash Fun

On the 1st of January I would have never imagined I would have undertaken 100 different photographic challenges, experiments or moments and blogged about them. Today I have achieved that, so to celebrate I thought I would experiment with colour – not just any colour – colour diffusers for my flash. I celebrated by blowing my budget and investing  a whole £1.86 (including delivery)  on a 12 Color Flash Diffuser Kit – but what do they do … and are they any good?

I used the same set up as yesterday – but on the off camera flash that was pointing at the white studio background I fixed one of the 12 colour diffusers, to see what it did – and it was amazing… when the flash went off it created a whole different feel to my fruit and a whole different background – but cause the flash was aimed more to the back, I lost all the detail in the fruit, and it looks inedible…  so I had to think of a way to make it work, and it was time to experiment.

Flash with Turquoise Gel pointed at studio background.
Flash with Turquoise Gel pointed at studio background.

The photo below shows a different flash diffuser – a vibrant pink one this time – but I added a second flash  in front of the fruit, so that I could brighten up the fruit and OMG after a few experiments in worked, playing with the manual flash settings, I had the kind of image I wanted – I could see the orange fruit, the white flesh of the inside of the orange and a background lit by flash – no Photoshop wizardry, just in camera wizardry and interesting effect.

Off camera Flash with a pink gel fitted, and a directional flash pointing at the fruit.
Off camera Flash with a pink gel fitted, and a directional flash pointing at the fruit.

I was then curious about all the other colour diffusers too… so I took lots of photos – one with the front flash and one without for each of the diffusers and I ended up with the image below – I merged them into one picture in Photoshop – you can see with the front flash added the fruit is lit better, but the background colour is slightly weaker. It is defiantly not something I would have considered making into a picture 100 days ago… but I am to print this out and enter it into my next camera club competition – as something a bit different – who knows what the judge will think!

Fruity Friday Flash Fun
Fruity Friday Flash Fun
3 thoughts on “Day 100 – Fruity Friday Flash Fun

  1. Looks like you had a lot of fun with this and ended with some great results. I love the one with the pink background. I personally would have got rid of the side of the glass during post processing. But they look great, well done and good luck at your camera club.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.