102 – Dinner Preparations

Last night we had friends for dinner .. and being one of the lucky ones, I married a chef, so I stepped back from the kitchen and let him create some wonderful dishes for our friends. I stayed out the way… but I did sneak into the kitchen with my camera and 100m lens – using natural light from the kitchen I captured a few photos.

I loved the colours of the vegetables ready to be served.

ISO 400, Hand held - F5.6, 1/60 sec
ISO 400, Hand held – F5.6, 1/60 sec
ISO 400, F5.6, 1/25 sec - handheld
ISO 400, F5.6, 1/25 sec – handheld

I had to increase the ISO to get a shutter speed fast enough so I can hand hold – a tripod would have been a useful addition, but I did not want to get in the way of the chef!

No dinner party is right without pudding… and my personal chef made some yummy looking Lemon crème brûlée – they are not finished as he could not do the topping till later, but it is interesting to see how getting in close and changing the angle impacts the end photo result.

ISO 400, F5.6, 1/80 sec - handheld
ISO 400, F5.6, 1/80 sec – handheld
ISO 400, F5.6, 1/60 sec - hand held
ISO 400, F5.6, 1/60 sec – hand held

I choose to stick with a wide aperture and a shallow depth of field to focus on part of the subject, which I think works – but going in close really highlights how it does help to have a personal chef, who is thinking about the detail, who is making sure the food is presented well in the first place but all the shots would have benefited from a lower ISO and a tripod and I should stop cutting corners!

