Day 103 – Creative Filters Soft Focus

Looking online at different forums, I read that you could coat the lens of your camera with Vaseline to create a soft focus effect, although it could be tricky to remove the Vaseline afterwards and it was best to contain it to your lens filter, however I thought I would try a different idea … I wrapped some cellophane around my 10-250mm lens and took it out for a walk along the sea wall – to see what I could capture and what effect it would produce.

None of these photos have been enhanced in Photoshop – that exactly what i captured in camera and you can see what effect the cellophane had with different settings, I thought it was a fun experiment – and has made me think a lot about where I focused on and how simple objects can create a whole different feel to an image – and it made me think of life before photoshop!

ISO 100, 15-250mm lens, 80mm focal length, F5.6, 1/500 sec - Selfie in the car wing mirror so you can see my set up!
ISO 100, 15-250mm lens, 80mm focal length, F5.6, 1/500 sec – Selfie in the car wing mirror so you can see my set up!

This is my set up today – it looks a little odd, but it adds an interesting blur to the photos drawing your attention into my focal point.

ISO 100, 15-250mm lens, 63mm focal length, F11, 1/125 sec - The House by the Dock
ISO 100, 15-250mm lens, 63mm focal length, F11, 1/125 sec – The House by the Dock

A wider angle shot and the cellophane causes you to focus on the house, but makes an interesting bokeh around the edges almost like you are looking though rain drops although it was a lovely sunny day.

ISO 100, 15-250mm lens, 95mm focal length, F6.3, 1/640 sec - Gorse in the sunshine
ISO 100, 15-250mm lens, 95mm focal length, F6.3, 1/640 sec – Gorse in the sunshine

A closer object and the shallower depth of field just leaves a misty blur around the edge of the photo and draws you into the flower.

ISO 100, 15-250mm lens, 21mm focal length, F6.3, 1/640 sec - My Border Collie
ISO 100, 15-250mm lens, 21mm focal length, F6.3, 1/640 sec – My Border Collie

A wider angled photo with the subject further away and you can see more of the cellophane – this time it really looks like you are peering through something to the image beyond – the light catches on the cellophane though this time and causes a distraction in the image.

ISO 100, 15-250mm lens, 147mm focal length, F6.3, 1/400 sec - Thistle

ISO 100, 15-250mm lens, 147mm focal length, F6.3, 1/400 sec – Thistle

The thistle which I zoomed in on has a very soft background because of the cellophane, the stem almost disappears and it looks like it is in the mist rather than bright sunlight.

It did feel a little odd going out with the camera all covered in cellophane – and if it was not for this blog, I would not of even considered experimenting with something like this … but actually it was rewarding to try something knew, it made me think about where I focused the viewers attention and there was a certain amount of unpredictability about it.

Have you tried any in camera creative techniques? It would be great if you can share your ideas and maybe I could try that too!

One thought on “Day 103 – Creative Filters Soft Focus

Comments are closed.