Day 106 – Zoom Blur

What is zoom blur?  It is when you use a longer shutter speed, and whilst the shutter is open – zoom in or out of the object you wish to focus on… it is great for creative shots and if you want to capture something different. You can read about it here:

I headed out last night with:

  • Tripod – needed to keep the camera steady, essential with longer shutter speeds
  • My 18-250 mm zoom lens.

I went back to revisit the swan and she was still on her nest in the forest. It is amazing how different light, using my tripod and changing the angle impacts of the same location as on day 91.

Swan - ISO 100, F19, 0.3 sec - 18-250mm lens, 35mm focal length
Swan – ISO 100, F19, 0.3 sec – 18-250mm lens, 35mm focal length

As the swan was only resting, I choose to experiment with lens zoom – I ensured that the swan was central to the shot and first of all zoomed in onto the swan, pressed the shutter and zoomed out to a wider angle as the photo was taken.

ISO 100, F25, 0.6sec - Zoomed out from the swan
ISO 100, F25, 0.6sec – Zoomed out from the swan

Without moving the camera, I took exactly the same shot – this time though starting with the widest angle of the camera and zooming in within the duration of time the shutter was open.

ISO 100, F25, 0.6sec- wide angle to zoom
ISO 100, F25, 0.6sec- wide angle to zoom

I was amazed how different the two effects were so I tried again…. this time selecting a tree as my point of focus… there was more light available and the shutter length had to be shorter, so I had to zoom faster.

ISO 100, F25, 1/15sec - wide to telephoto
ISO 100, F25, 1/15sec – wide to telephoto

Taking the shot from exactly the same place, but zooming out – I got this great abstract photo – you completely loose sight of the tree – but I like it. Do you?

ISO 100, F40, 1/5sec - Telephoto to wide angle
ISO 100, F40, 1/5sec – Telephoto to wide angle
2 thoughts on “Day 106 – Zoom Blur

Comments are closed.