Day 107 – Long and short shutter speeds

When I took the zoom blur photos that I shared yesterday,  I also had a play with shutter speeds in the evening light and have now edited those photos to add to my blog too.

Fast Shutter Speeds

All of a sudden a New Forest Pony started galloping towards me, and I thought this was the perfect chance to switch to shutter priority mode – choose a fast shutter speed and try and capture the pony going past. It was evening, so the light levels were low, and because I had a fixed ISO selected although I dialed in a high shutter speed the camera was unable to go above 1/100th second – I panned with the pony though and managed to capture the movement and blur on its legs.

I have an opportunity this weekend to capture some more moving animals so I am going to change off of the fixed ISO – in the hope I can freeze the movement better.

ISO100, F4, 1/100 sec
ISO100, F4, 1/100 sec
ISO100, F4, 1/100 sec
ISO100, F4, 1/100 sec
ISO100, F4, 1/100 sec
ISO100, F4, 1/100 sec

It was also disappointing that the pony was moving away from me – it would be a much stronger image if the pony was racing in my direction and looking at the lens – maybe next time!

Slow Shutter Speeds

I wanted to capture the evening light and the stillness of the pond at a well known New Forest beauty spot, so focused on slow shutter speeds, I had the right ISO for this, but discovered if I slowed the shutter speed, I was unable to control the aperture, and an aperture over F22 – cause me problems as I had somehow got dust on my sensor…. so I chose aperture priority instead and came home and cleaned my sensor.

ISO 100, F22, 1/6 sec - The sunsets behind the trees!
ISO 100, F22, 1/6 sec – The sunsets behind the trees!

I liked this shot, but the wooden rail in the foreground cut across the photo, so I moved my camera into the water and found a large branch which I tossed into the pond for foreground interest.

ISO 100, F18, 1/6 sec - Hatchet Pond at sunset
ISO 100, F18, 1/6 sec – Hatchet Pond at sunset

I then spotted the colours in the water .. and focused on that – a more abstract impression of the evening light.

ISO 100, F18, 0.3sec - Evening light reflected
ISO 100, F18, 0.3sec – Evening light reflected

I thought about framing the shot and choose something different in the foreground – this time a small bush. I also noticed that although I did not get an amazing sunset I did enjoy the “blue hour” which occurs just after sunset.

I have an app on my Iphone – which I totally recommend, which tells me at any location when the sunrise will occur, when sunset is, when Golden Hour and Blue Hour will occur too -which can really help with planning the timing for evening shots – I am sure it could plan morning shots too… but I am not a morning person.  For more info – Golden Hour.

ISo100, F18, 0.3sec - Evening Light
ISo100, F18, 0.3sec – Evening Light

Finally I experimented with slow shutter speeds and the flash – I wanted to capture myself in the blue hour… I was on my own, so with the camera on the tripod, I choose a 10 sec delay on the shutter so I could get into position, I swivelled my LCD round so I could see if I was in shot, added rear syn flash (with 2 stops down of exposure on the flash) so that although it was a slow shutter speed – any movement I made would be frozen and hopefully there was some catch lights in my eyes.

I was really pleased with the result below – this was done with the on camera flash and I found myself thinking what if I had brought my speedlite with me and used the flash off camera – could I have positioned it better so that it did not flash on my glasses … and then I thought OMG – where did that thought come from… I never knew I knew that … guess experimenting with ideas really helps enforce the ideas I do have and my creative thinking….

ISO100, F10, 1/5 sec, Timer, Rear Sync Flash
ISO100, F10, 1/5 sec, Timer, Rear Sync Flash – Selfie 🙂
