Day 116 – 10k Run.

Today I did my 2nd 10k of the year – this one in Southampton city centre, with a a unique ascent!

This is me and my running buddies near the start taken on my trusty iphone.
This is me and my running buddies near the start taken on my trusty iphone.

Towering over the River Itchen since 1977 is the Itchen Bridge, (pictured) spanning 870 yards (800 m), is 92 feet (28 m) at its highest point and weighs 62,000 tons – as a a real treat for the event the bridge will be closed and the 10km will take you over and back across the bridge between miles 4-5.

At the top of the bridge almost 100ft up, you get a stunning view of the entire city, (not that I really appreciated it) right up the river, across the commercial centre and then out to see towards the Isle of Wight. On the descent down from the bridge back into towards the city centre, you get a close up of the vast premier league stadium St Mary’s – home of the Saints football club.

This is a view I captured of the bridge the other day on my nifty 50 on the fifth floor of a neighboring building … the view was OK from there …

Southampton View - taken through glass. 50mm lens, ISO 800 F13, 1/640 sec
Southampton View – taken through glass. 50mm lens, ISO 800 F13, 1/640 sec

This run was one of my training runs for the Great South Run which I hope to complete later in the year – I am doing it to raise awareness for Kleine Levin Syndrome (KLS) – and hoping to collect sponsors. I did not do it in my fastest time – although my husband did – he got a fantastic new PB in less than an hour, I was happy with the result… and my lovely medal – I don’t run to get a PB… I run because I can 🙂

My 10k medal taken on my SLR with a lovely shallow depth of field.
My 10k medal taken on my SLR with a lovely shallow depth of field.
