Day 130 – Another 10k and Going Wide in the Bluebell Wood

This morning I completed another 10k – it sounds like I am a runner but I am not… I started running just over a year OK and today I ran that race again, slower than I did then … hubby steamed a head – he is a new runner too…. but although I would like to get a 10k under an hour (today was about 1 hr 5mins), to me it is more about the journey … I can’t take photos and run, I can’t stop to look at things, I am not competitive … I expect to come last (I did always at school… and if I ran slow enough I only ever ran half the course as they sent me back to change early), but I am running cause I can … I never could till I turned 40 … but now I can.

I am signed up for the Great South – I don’t know how I will do that (it is nearly twice as far) but I am trying….  so my first photo today … my running shoes before my race.

Nifty 50, ISO100, F4, 1/160sec - My running shoes
Nifty 50, ISO100, F4, 1/160sec – My running shoes

Emma’s challenge #Remarkable2015 is to think creatively … so this shot is … it represents the run but is a different shot … below is the standard post run shot.

After the race - on an iphone by my daughter
After the race – on an iphone by my daughter

After the race … I went for a walk with the dogs… 4.5k, a good muscle stretch and back to the bluebell wood, this time with my nifty 50 and my Sigma 10-20mm wide angle lens – back button focusing to see that I could capture and to compare them to the other two visits – see here  and here.

I started with the nifty 50 … limited with what I could get in shot, but loving the sharpness of the image and the depth of the field that a shallow aperture gives.

Nifty 50, ISO 200, F7.1, 1/80 sec
Nifty 50, ISO 200, F7.1, 1/80 sec

Same Aperture, same speed, different ISO and a different lens – wide angle and a totally different feel … the trees in the backgound are too soft but so are the bluebells in the foreground in my opinion … it is a slightly different location… but the foreground is much messier.

10-20mm wide abgle, ISO100, F7.1, 1/80sec
10-20mm wide angle, ISO100, F7.1, 1/80sec

Staying wide I looked down a path in the bluebells at the old tree .. there is a great sense of space but the camera seems to limit what I can focus on.

Wide angle 10-20mm, ISO100, F7.1, 1/125 sec
Wide angle 10-20mm, ISO100, F7.1, 1/125 sec

Lens change … I can’t get as much in shot, but I think I prefer the closer angle and the quality of this shot. Lenses really can’t make a difference … more than I thought.

Nifty 50, ISO100. F5.6, 1/160sec
Nifty 50, ISO100. F5.6, 1/160sec

I stayed with the nifty 50 and backed up … the path is not as clear through the bluebells but I feel there is more individual detail in each flower with the prime lens .

Nifty 50, ISO100, F5.6, 1/250sec
Nifty 50, ISO100, F5.6, 1/250sec

I tried getting lower with the wider angle lens, the trees are no longer straight and you get an impressive sense of scale … it is much more a creative look at the woodland than I would normally consider.

10-20mm, ISO100, F9, 1/80sec
10-20mm, ISO100, F9, 1/80sec

I thought about foreground interest to add something to the shot… I had forgotten how close you could get with the wide angle lens, I could touch the root… but it made the bluebells behind seem much further away.

10-20mm, ISO125, F5.6, 1/30 sec
10-20mm, ISO125, F5.6, 1/30 sec

Almost back at the start … I should have focused on the foreground bluebells… but with the wider lens you can see so much more than in the nifty 50 (similar location to my first bluebell shot) – here the sense of space and scale works.

10-20mm wide angle, ISO100, F5.6, 1/100 sec
10-20mm wide angle, ISO100, F5.6, 1/100 sec

Today really was an eye opener into which lens is the right lens for the job, and how using different lens can add a different feel to the end result … recommendation for today experiment with your lens, use one you would not normally use and compare them … you definitely see the world differently!

One thought on “Day 130 – Another 10k and Going Wide in the Bluebell Wood

Comments are closed.