Day 136 – Early Morning Walk and Editing capabilities

Delighted to be able to start today with an early morning walk (5.30am) with some of the family… was hoping for great skies and New born New Forest foals instead I got overcast skies and some general shots of the New Forest, and decided to experiment with the * button on the back of my camera which sets the exposure – not I have set up Back button focusing.

ISO400, F6.3, 1/160 sec - the reason I was walking!
ISO400, F6.3, 1/160 sec – the reason I was walking!

This is just a shot of my morning company… walking along, catching up – a precious moment, which only those who know me well will understand how much moments like this are appreciated … even though tonight is a late night.. and 5.30 was early for me 🙂

Exposure

The next two shots are handheld but a very similar view … the aperture is a bit too wide.. but I was not really thinking about that I was wondering how setting the exposure effected the shot, and I choose this picture as I like the detail in the sky, the lines of the telegraph wires and the sense of scale.

In the first shot I expose for the foreground which meant that the sky was blown out… I then took it into Lightroom and adjusted the exposure, added gradient filters, used the adjustment brush to bring back the detail in the highlights. I am amazed how much detail was hidden in the Raw file… but I feel it is lacking detail on the poles.

In the second shot I exposed for the sky and lost detail in the foreground as with the faster shutter speed less light was lit into the camera. I applied the same effects in Lightroom adjusting the exposure, adding gradient filters and using the adjustment brush but this time to add more light.

ISO 400, F5, 1/500 setting - the over exposed shot, then edited.
ISO 400, F5, 1/500 setting – the over exposed shot, then edited.
ISO 400, F4.5, 1/2500 setting - the unexposed shot, then edited.
ISO 400, F4.5, 1/2500 setting – the unexposed shot, then edited.

In both cases the amount of detail that I was able to save in the photo in just a matter of moments is pretty impressive … which has made me more aware that if me settings are wrong, but the composure and depth of field is right then with a little time and effort in the dark room (or Lightroom) then the photo might be able to be rescued.

The Forest

I also capture today this great image of a highland cow heading towards me … I did end up with one of those telegraph poles coming out of his head… and I had taken a series of shots but this one had the best facial expression… so after cropping in Lightroom I popped over to photoshop to amend the background, and I pleased to say it worked.

ISO400, F6.3, 1/200 sec original image then edited.
ISO400, F6.3, 1/200 sec original image then edited.

I also took this image of a forest pond… I had spotted a video earlier in the week on using luminosity masks, and wanted to try using those techniques too…. I am amazed at the results when you combine it all together and then look at the before and after results.

ISO200, F13, 1/60 sec - Original shot and then edited.
ISO200, F13, 1/60 sec – Original shot and then edited.

If you are reading … can you leave a comment below if you take photos and edit them … what software do you use? Do you feel it enhances your images? I would love to know what you think….

2 thoughts on “Day 136 – Early Morning Walk and Editing capabilities

  1. Hi Helen
    I use lightroom and elements for my editing more lightroom I think it improves your photography when you see what you can achieve with some editing you strive to produce this straight from camera, plus having edited some photos you understand what you need to do to improve your photos.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.