Day 141 – Happy Birthday

It’s another birthday …. Sparky – my one year old Border Collie turned one today … so time to get out the camera, set the stage and see if maybe Pet Cake Smash would be a good idea … I thought I would try just setting up the shot first before I made dog friendly birthday cake.

I experimented with a reflector and my one camera flash, and then used photoshop to turned down the exposure of the garage door as it was too distracting… really shold have set up a proper studio but did not want to damage the background with dirty dog!

Side reflector and a pirate hat 🙂

ISO 200, 1/250 sec, F6.3 No flash, reflector to the left
ISO 200, 1/250 sec, F6.3 No flash, reflector to the left

On camera flash with a crown… it stayed on better than the pirates hat. I wanted a birthday cone but was not able to find one of those in my local high street the other day when I was looking.

IS0 200, F6.3, 1/200 sec - on camera flash
IS0 200, F6.3, 1/200 sec – on camera flash

I promise no animals were harmed in the creating of those photos … but I don’t think my photo buddies enjoyed modelling as much as they like to bomb my photos. But revenge is fun!

ISO 200, F6.3, 1/250 sec - on camera flash
ISO 200, F6.3, 1/250 sec – on camera flash

Last one … I like how the banner in the background add depth to the photo and how I have catch lights in Sparky’s eyes.

ISO200, F7.1, 1/250sec on camera flash
ISO200, F7.1, 1/250sec on camera flash
