Day 142 – Donkey Foal

Today I headed back to see the swans,  I only had a limited amount of time, but I wanted to see how the sygnets were doing and what they were up to now. Today the nest was empty … it was great to see it was a secure next site, but there was no sign of either parents. although the unhatched eggs were still in situ.

Empty Nest
Empty Nest

I had a quick wander round to see what else I could capture in the forest today, and there was some great sunlight falling on this New Forest cow which was happily grazing the moorland.

A Forest Cow
A Forest Cow

Heading back to the car, I then came across this little guy … all the animals in the New Forest belong to someone, (the Commoners) but they are free to wander and graze where they choose and have right of way over the traffic etc. It is known by local people the dangers of the free roaming ponies and donkeys – they can kick, they can damage you and it is really important not to get between the mother and her foal. You really should not pet the forest animals, but leave them alone, take only pictures and memories but this little guy this morning had not yet learnt about the dangers of humans which made it really hard to photograph his.

PhotoChallenge-DonkeyFoal-5842-1
Baby Donkey
PhotoChallenge-DonkeyFoal-5843-2
Donkey Foal in a Forest Car Park

The little guy wanted cuddles and rubs against me … he was impossible to move away from at points.. and I was so wishing there was another photographer or my camera had a shorter focal length and a wider lens, and because his mum was nearby I was very wary!

PhotoChallenge-DonkeyFoal-5847-3
The Donkey foal and me…

I kept moving around to try different angles, to get a pleasing background and to get far enough away from the foal to get a lovely photo with a shallow depth of field. In this shot, I could not get a wider angle as he was soo close.

Baby Donkey
Baby Donkey

You don’t though get much sense of scale when I just photograph the foal on its own… so meet mum – teaching him how to graze.

Mummy donkey and donkey foal in the sunshine
Mummy donkey and donkey foal in the sunshine

The little guy is having a scratch … this was just after his mum wee’d and he walked underneath it and had some of the flow drip on him … I was so surprised I forgot to click, and that would have made a funny photo!

A typical donkey scratch
A typical donkey scratch

On the move, the foal choose to have a little wonder and see who else had arrived in the car park.

Experimenting with angles
Experimenting with angles

These photos are just one of the reasons I love the area where I live – I went out looking for swans, I saw an adorable donkey foal. It was just a short drive from home, I did not have to pay to park … I actually did not have to leave the car park 🙂 and I was presented with a whole variety of new opportunities and moments to capture.

The Donkeys and other visitors to the New Forest.
The Donkeys and other visitors to the New Forest.

There were lots of cars parked up… and these guys thought hanging by the pond was the perfect place to stop for morning coffee ……. well it should be coffee time… I only stopped for a moment and that was an hour a go they were a pleasure to watch.

Steady does it ... there is plenty there!
Steady does it … there is plenty there!

Thinking about angles and crops I moved in closer than I would on previous years … still wary though as a back kick can really hurt!

Time for morning coffee ... or milkshake for the little one?
Time for morning coffee … or milkshake for the little one?

My final frame for the day – a close crop… an adorable donkey foal … I hope you have enjoyed today’s images.

A close crop of the donkey foal with mum - filling the frame.
A close crop of the donkey foal with mum – filling the frame.
One thought on “Day 142 – Donkey Foal

Comments are closed.