Day 145 – Landscapes

I have escaped for a few days away exploring, walking and taking photos, it is lovely to be able to capture different landscapes than the ones I see on a regular basis, and to enjoy the textures, the colours, the dimensions and the new opportunities that they offer, we traveled across the UK, stopping off to enjoy a coffee, a dog walk and some sunshine just outside Sherborne

More fields and trees dividing he landscape
Fields and trees dividing the landscape
Fields, Fields and more fields... I sight I rarely see from home
Fields, Fields and more fields… I sight I rarely see from home
Only one photo buddy came on our adventure.
Only one photo buddy came on our adventure.
Coffee with amazing view!
Coffee with amazing view!
Focusing on the trees
Focusing on the trees

We discovered the Somerset Mineral Railway trail and enjoyed a challenging and hilly walk taking in some amazing views, as well as some ancient buildings from the past.

West Somerset Mineral Railway - Beerland Wood Ventilation Flue
West Somerset Mineral Railway – Beerland Wood Ventilation Flue
West Somerset Mineral Railway -  Beerland Wood Ventilation Flue
West Somerset Mineral Railway – Beerland Wood Ventilation Flue
A beach wood... from below the embankment.
A beach wood… from below the embankment.
A beautiful house on a distant hill
A beautiful house on a distant hill
Hills and amazing views
Hills and amazing views
Somerset Sheep
Somerset Sheep
Somerset Sheep
Somerset Sheep
The building at the incline - West Somerset Railway Mineral Line
The building at the incline – West Somerset Railway Mineral Line
West Somerset Mineral Railway - the building at the incline
West Somerset Mineral Railway – the building at the incline
The view at the Incline - and amazingly steep hill with an historic past!
The view at the Incline – and amazingly steep hill with an historic past!

I was asked this week as part of my #Remarkable2015 – who inspired my photographer. I almost feel ashamed to say that I don’t have a favorite photographer than I follow, instead I feel I am inspired to try and capture what I see and share it with others. I think the UK is an amazing place, there are so many incredible places to explore, so many inspirational views to see, that when I go there I want to record the memory for me, to look back at the images and remember just how exhausted or how delighted I was to reach that spot and capture that moment.

I love seeing photos that other people have created, I like to think that I want to visit there or that I like how they have achieved that, and I am happy to learn about the location of how they composed their shot, and I will use that knowledge to influence my own photography…  I read blogs, facebook, photo books and magazines to collect ideas … and I think most of all I am inspired by other open minded photographers who like me want to share the world that photography has opened up, who share their ideas, their methods, their settings, their locations and their experiences so I can learn along with them.

A great photo, an inspiring photo can be taken be anyone … they don’t need to be famous… their photo just has to tell a story or have a meaning to the viewer. To me these are great photos of my trip away as they all have a meaning to me, they open up the world to others and they may even inspire you to discover part of the West Somerset Mineral railway which dates back to the 1850’s.

