Day 146 – Watchet

Have you ever been to Watchet? It is a lovely little place on the coast and there is plenty there to explore. Today I am sharing my photos of my visit there, perhaps inspiring you to visit to one day. It has a lovely harbour, a steam train, a great beach, some interesting shops, some statues and we found parking easy too.

It is amazing how much the view changes when you move around.

The beach at Watchet
The beach at Watchet
Watchet Harbour
Watchet Harbour
Watchet Harbour
Watchet Harbour
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse

I had the perfect model posing on the sea wall, and the unflattering result of my wide angle lens did not bother him at all.

Shooting with a wide angle lens
Shooting with a wide angle lens
Wide Angle Lens
Wide Angle Lens

Watchet has two statues on the harbour – the old mariner and Yankee Jack, so I tried to capture them too. I wished that I had an off camera flash for these, as due to the position of the sun they would have been enhanced with a little bit of additional lighting don’t you think? Although I think the old mariner one is better than the one on the above link.

Yankee Jack
Yankee Jack
The Old Marineer
The Old Marineer

My final photo – always leave the place wanting to come back for more…. close you eyes and imagine a group of children standing on the path of the right ideally dressed in at least one red jumper or complimentary colours to give the picture a sense of scale, and then on the right a steam train puffing along the track … would that not be perfect…  unfortunately the rime we were there the steam train was not running…. but it would make an amazing photo, perhaps I will get to go back….

PhotoChallenge-SomersetWeekend-6125-3

