Day 148 – Burnham on Sea & Seascapes

Today I am sharing a lovely walk on the huge beach at Burnham on Sea. These are just moments and details that I captured, from the interesting Low Lighthouse standing on the beach to the details of the waves, the shapes and artifacts left on the sand by the outgoing tide and just some of the people also enjoying the beach too.

The Low Lighthouse with a natural frame
The Low Lighthouse with a natural frame

I thought this lighthouse was red … it is on the seaward side and black on the landward size… a perfect of example of the importance of changing angles and moving your feet. I preferred the view from the landward size, but the lighthouse was much more striking from the seaward size. I kept Sparky in the first photo as it helps to give a sense of scale.

The Low Lighthouse
The Low Lighthouse
The Low Lighthouse
The Low Lighthouse

Looking across the beach the water made all sorts of abstract patterns on the sand, there were patches of water, ripples, areas of firm and soft sand and shallow breaking waves … the more you looked the more you could see and discover and I tried filling my camera frame with different images.

PhotoChallenge-SomersetWeekend-6190-4 PhotoChallenge-SomersetWeekend-6205-6 PhotoChallenge-SomersetWeekend-6195-5PhotoChallenge-SomersetWeekend-6234-13There were people walking on the beach in places, people walking dogs, and people cycling, and people riding horses. I don’t very often see people horse riding on the beach, so I decided that was the shot I wanted to capture with a horse splashing in the waves, the beach however was so vast it was easy to get photos devoid of people as I loved the sense of space that portrays.

Horse Riding at Burnham on Sea
Horse Riding at Burnham on Sea

Amongst the people there was wildlife and I was lucky enough to capture this Egret in flight with the Nuclear Power station blurred in the background – nature and industry combined.

An Egret in flight
An Egret in flight

As the tide had gone out, there was fresh seaweed left on the beach. It was interesting to see the angles in which the sea had left it, and what striking variety they offered. I was left thinking about whether the other people enjoying the beach were noticing the small details too….

Sea weed at Burnham
Sea weed at Burnham
Seaweed at Burnham
Seaweed at Burnham

The next two images I have desaturated  slightly- as I felt it added to the image.

Desaturated sand rocks
Desaturated sand rocks

This one I removed more colour, the discarded fishing net was a great texture, I got low and with the dog and my hubby in shot you still get a sense of scale. This is a more creativity beach shot than something I would have previously considered..  and it shows that it is a great idea to experiment, to look at things differently and just some times take a risk. In the past I would have just seen discarded net or rubbish… today I saw texture and a sense of place.

Fishing Net discarded
Fishing Net discarded

My final image is a return to the low lighthouse, a change of angle, a bigger zoom so the image is more compressed and changing skies – by now we had been walking over 12km and exploring the beach for at least a couple of hours … if feels like a completely different day and it highlights just how important the right light is for a photo.PhotoChallenge-SomersetWeekend-6238-14Anyway … time to head back home… hope you have enjoyed sharing my adventure.

3 thoughts on “Day 148 – Burnham on Sea & Seascapes

  1. Glad you liked my little bit of the planet. Was sat on the sea wall last night while the boys did swim team. A lovely set of images on what looks like a bit of a grey day! If you carry on along the beach away from the town for about a mile there is a shipwreck which is beautiful at sunset and right at the end of the beach is an old fort on the top of the hill. Let me know if you come back this way and we can do lunch and some pics x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the offer – we will be back .. The ship wreck at sunset sounds like a great opportunity and with a tour guide for best angles … Sounds like a great reason to come visit again!

      Like

Comments are closed.