Day 168 – New Forest Landscapes

Home is the New Forest… after a few days away it is lovely to be home and enjoying the wonderful countryside that is uniquely the New Forest. For today’s photos I went for a 5km walk around Burbush carpark, just outside the village of Burley.

The sky reflecting in the pond was very peaceful… so with my tripod and polarising filter I captured the scene, across the pond, but the bright sunlight of 11am skies, meant that the shadows were quite harsh.

ISO100, F20, 1/15sec - 18mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod
ISO100, F20, 1/15sec – 18mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod

The sky was vibrant and full of clouds, so I captured the sky turning my filter round to bring out the blues, it is often useful having interesting skies as stock images, just in case you need to put them in somewhere else.

ISO100, F22, 1/30sec - 18mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod
ISO100, F22, 1/30sec – 18mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod

As I got to the far side of the pond, some horses came down to paddle in the water and drink… I really needed a longer zoom, instead I have cropped in to get the photo I wanted … I think it is great how I have captured the movement of the water, adding interest to my shot, especially as the New Forest pony is letting some water drip back down… I just wish it was sharper … I seem to be struggling with sharpness on this lens at the moment.

ISO100, F8, 1/20sec - 250mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod, Cropped
ISO100, F8, 1/20sec – 250mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod, Cropped

Changing directing from the open forest, I came across a clump of pine trees, The vertical lines of the trunks make a striking pattern, in my opinion and by capturing the ground cover but not the tops of the trees you get a real impression of height.

ISO100, F8, 1/100 sec - 95mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod
ISO100, F8, 1/100 sec – 95mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod

Further on through the trees you could see a winding path, it is a totally different composition as this time I am looking down through the trees, but the path behind really leads you through the picture, giving you lots to look at.

ISO100, F8, 1/60 sec - 63mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod, cropped
ISO100, F8, 1/60 sec – 63mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod, cropped

My final shot is a lone tree in an area of woodland that is being managed. I just loved the sense of scale this smallest tree projects over the surrounding empty space and the trees in the background which look almost miniature … it is all about getting the right camera angle, moving your feet to get an interesting background and seeing the final image.

ISO100, F16, 1/40sec - 18mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod
ISO100, F16, 1/40sec – 18mm focal length on 18-250mm lens, polarising filter + tripod

It is nice to be back in the New Forest.

