Day 178 – Food Photography

I have taken a few food photos in my blog so far, and today I baked cherry scones and lime and coconut cookies and thought it was a great opportunity to take some more photos. Recently I have come accorss a coupld of other posts about taking photos of food … and I have thought about what they have said when I took the images today.

Todays set up involved natural window light, a sheet of foam board to bounce the light back and my 50mm lens

Cherry Scones, ISO 100, F4.5, 1/20 sec
Cherry Scones, ISO 100, F4.5, 1/20 sec

The cherry scones I photographed on a plain white plate, on a wooden table… the table compliments the glaze of the scones, but I experimented and decided to go closer.

Cherry Scones, ISO 100, F6.3, 1/13 sec
Cherry Scones, ISO 100, F6.3, 1/13 sec

Moving in closer I increased the aperture as the depth of field would be reduced, and I changed my angle slightly, but by removing the edge of the plate you have no idea of scale. This could be tiny scones or huge ones.

Lime and coconut biscuits, ISO 100, F4.5, 1.25 sec
Lime and coconut biscuits, ISO 100, F4.5, 1.25 sec

This were placed on black marble… which was not big enough to cover the work area and the difference between that, the sugar paper and the table beyond is quite apparent. If I am going to take food photos I need the think more about the background medium and get some different surfaces, plates, tiles etc to photograph on. The black marble seems to suck the colour right out of these delicate biscuits.

Lime biscuits, ISO 100, F4.5, 1/40 sec
Lime biscuits, ISO 100, F4.5, 1/40 sec

A biscuit stack works much better … but the black marble does not meet the background… this shoot though has much better colour, you can see the texture of the biscuits, the crumbs and the reflection in the marble.

So what next:

  • Look at lighting
  • Look at making the backgrounds more interesting
  • Put the kettle on and enjoy a cherry scone and a lime biscuit … afterall someone has the try them 🙂
