Day 179 – The Beach and Lightroom

I have been using Lightroom for a while, and having recently upgraded to Adobe CC – I thought I would actually sit down and watch some Lightroom tutorials and see how that impacts on my editing style. I have only watched the first two of this playlist so far by Anthony Morganti, but so far I am impressed with the knowledge I have gained and I do aim to watch some more.

Today’s photos were at the beach, I never knew I was heading that way… so had my camera only, but none the less I took images of the view with the histogram in mind making sure that I exposed for the highlights, so that I could recover the shadows based on what I had discovered in lightroom.

The first image today is straight out of camera (SOC) – this is taken as a raw file and I have applied no editing at all. I normally at least, straighten/crop, sharpen slightly and maybe boost the clarity…

Barton on Sea
SOC, ISO100, F11, 1/320 sec, 15-70mm lens, 23mm focal length

I then took this into Lightroom, followed the hints and tips I had discovered from the first two videos about Lightroom with Anthony Morganti, and this resulted in the above image edited to look like this:

Lightroom Edited,  ISO100, F11, 1/320 sec, 15-70mm lens, 23mm focal length
Lightroom Edited, ISO100, F11, 1/320 sec, 15-70mm lens, 23mm focal length

It is the same image, the editing is does not destruct the image in anyway, I can return to the original raw file whenever I want to, but I feel the image is of a much higher standard.

These are other photos I capture at the beach today that I have edited it Lightroom too.

ISO100, F11, 1/320 sec, 15-70mm lens, 23mm focal length
ISO100, F11, 1/320 sec, 15-70mm lens, 23mm focal length

This above image, I am shooting into sun – the beach appears to be more in shadow, the rocks loose details and are a silhouette on the horizon, where as turning so the sun is behind me (the first image) I would have capture more detail. The settings are the same in both!

ISO100, F5, 1/400 sec, 70mm zoom on 17-70mm lens
ISO100, F5, 1/400 sec, 70mm zoom on 17-70mm lens

I just love the beach. I brought this prop along with me, as I thought it would work in the beach environment … the smooth concrete, the texture of the sand and seaweed … another object to carry around for inspiration.

ISO100, F16, 1/100 sec, focal lenght 17mm, 17-70mm lens
ISO100, F16, 1/100 sec, focal length 17mm, 17-70mm lens

I shot this photo wide, thought about foreground interest, thought about trying to ensure as much was in focus in the scene as possible when composing the image, and placing my horizon on the thirds when I cropped it … it was not until I began editing it that I notice the appearance on one of my photobuddies! (grr!) This means that this image either has to be retaken or carefully edited… luckily I took more than one shot.

ISO100, F16, 1/100 sec, 17mm focal length on 17-70mm lens
ISO100, F16, 1/100 sec, 17mm focal length on 17-70mm lens

The second shot I edited slightly more to bring out the blues in the sky, I captured the waves at a different breaking point and it just shows how much timing influences your final image and what you have to work with.

I am really am understanding that photographers make images, they first capture the image in the camera by seeing what they want to photograph and knowing what settings to use to make it happen, then they develop the photos in an editing program to bring at the best of that image. Editing really is not a knew thing – in the days of film, the photograph developed the negative in his or her dark room to get the image they wanted … if you rely on the jpg version (or camera processed file) you are simply taking happy snaps further than “making” photos.

