Day 183 – Night time Adventures

It is summer, so the dark evenings are a long time coming… which is great news unless you want to try some night time photos, I knew last night I was going to be running out of time today, so I took these photos in the evening light.

ISO200, F22, 8 sec with tripod
ISO200, F22, 8 sec with tripod
ISO200, F22, 30 sec with tripod
ISO200, F22, 30 sec with tripod

The first two image were taken looking up a hill, with the trees silhouetted to the moon beyond. The longer exposure time resulted in a star burst from the moon as the light over powered the sensor. You can see the stars staring to come out, but the sky is still very blue – in fact we were just coming to the end of the “blue hour”.

ISO200, F20, 35mm with tripod
ISO200, F20, 35mm with tripod

A different location, and looking into the long gone sunset. It was a really struggle to find some interesting shapes to make the photo… I wanted an interesting foreground and I struggled to find one.

PhotoChallenge-July-0166-4
ISO200, F20, 30 sec with tripod

The view behind me was my car … and although it was very dark the moonlight was reflecting off the bodywork, so I had a go at capturing the car, it is amazing how much of the car the moon was able to light up.

IS0200, F8, 13 sec with tripod
IS0200, F8, 13 sec with tripod

Meanwhile a car drove into the car park, it then turned round and drove back out again, I was delighted with this one… you can see the white lights approach behind the car and then the red rear lights as the car goes past. The red lights reflect back on the body work and the white headlights reflecting of the surrounding gravel. I was really pleased with this shot, it is the most interesting one I captured last night.

