Day 190 – sunlit leaves

Bright sunlight on the leaves this afternoon caught my eye, so I tried to capture the sunlight and shadows. I was looking up to the leaves. In my first photo I was delighted how I managed to capture the sun back lighting the detail on the stem.

ISO100, F5.6, 1/800 sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/800 sec

This photo was taken side on, there was a huge contrast between the dark shadows and the brightness where the sun was shinning on the leaf, and I was really pleased that I managed to captured the detail on the brightly lit leaves. with the additional darkenss the ISO has increased and the shutter speed lengthen to compensate.

ISO640, F5.6, 1/250 sec
ISO640, F5.6, 1/250 sec

For all these photos I had the ISO on auto, these leaves caught my eye as although they were brightly lit by the sunlight the leaves above were creating shadows on them. The brighter sunlit leaves in the background and the spots of blue sky are distracting though, I think.

ISO100, F5, 1/320 sec
ISO100, F5, 1/320 sec

Side on again, and  this time it was the position of the leaves that caught my attention, the two layers almost look like a reflection of each other, and I find them interesting to look at.

ISO100, F5.6, 1/250 sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/250 sec

Last photo for today, back to looking up at the leave again, I got some great back lighting around the edge of this leave, and I love the silhouette of the fly and its winds. The fly was on top of the leaf and I feel it add’s interest to the image.

ISO160, F5.6, 1/320 sec
ISO160, F5.6, 1/320 sec

I then decided it would be interesting to just extract the fly and the textures on the leave, so I cropped the image down to include just that in Lightroom… and the detail on the leaf is really amazing, especially as the shutter was only open for 1/320 sec.

A closer crop of the fly.
A closer crop of the fly.
