Day 201 – Forest Walk

Another forest walk… capturing moments.

This is the Ornamental Drive in the New Forest – it is popular with tourists of all descriptions, from cyclists to walkers, families and couples and is home to the tallest trees in the New Forest National Park, rarely do you see a police car and today I did. I grabbed a quick shot, and I think the people and the cars give a really great impression of how tall the trees are, when you can just see part of the trunk on the left hand side. It is an impressive place to explore.

iso800, f6.3, 1/250 sec
iso800, f6.3, 1/250 sec

This is one of the tallest trees, it was planted back in 1859 – so has been growing in the New Forest for over 156 years! it is quite a challenge to capture it, as you need to shoot wide to include the height of the tree, there are limited view points and harsh shadows to deal with – I exposed for the highlights and detail in the sky and then brought back the detail in the foreground in photoshop.

iSO800, F22, 1/160sec
iSO800, F22, 1/160sec

From the tallest to the smallest… The forest is full of hugs trees but it is the small details that add to the unique nature of the forest, and using my camera has opened my eyes are much more.

This is my first ever photo of a dragonfly … my camera club recently went out looking for dragon flies, but I did not tag along – instead I stopped by a forest stream and spotted this lovely creature land on a log in front of me, I zoomed in (and I have cropped) and am delighted with this shot – but they move soo quickly! I think I may well have another go… (there is an article on shooting dragonfiles here) I shot this photo with my zoom lens, it would be interesting to see what i could shoot with a macro lens!

ISO800, F6.3, 1/500sec
ISO800, F6.3, 1/500sec

Another small object – I had never seen a butterfly so big…. then I realised it was two – either that or it has two heads 🙂

ISO800, F5.6, 1/2500sec
ISO800, F5.6, 1/2500sec

I recently read an article about reflections, and with the sunlight reflecting on the forest stream – my finger once again hit the trigger and wanted to capture the image before me – what I really did discover though is to make the reflections look amazing a few slides of the sliders in Lightroom did wonders … and I even discovered how to create my own preset!

ISO600, F10, 1/50sec
ISO600, F10, 1/50sec
ISO800, F14, 1/20sec
ISO800, F14, 1/20sec

I just love the forest! Early in the year, I tried street photography … back at the begging of my blog… and today with no street’s in sight, I had another go – I wanted to capture what some people love about the New Forest – how it is a [perfect place for families and friends to spend time together – a place where children play with their imaginations, and grownups relax together.

ISO800, F8, 1/125 sec
ISO800, F8, 1/125 sec
ISO800, F8, 1/200sec
ISO800, F8, 1/200sec
One thought on “Day 201 – Forest Walk

Comments are closed.