Day 205 – Camera at the Ready

You never know when the opportunity to take a photo will arise, and I tend to walk the dogs with my camera in hand just in case … today was a great reason to do that … if I had the camera in my bag not ready to go I would have missed today’s opportunity. I was walking in the New Forest and I came across some deer, once startled they are quick to run off into the woodland.

ISO800, F5.6, 1/400 sec
ISO800, F5.6, 1/400 sec

The deer spotted me before I spotted them and they quickly began to move from the open fire break to the trees to hide amongst the foliage and the shadows which makes them much harder to spot. Even the distant deer knew it was the time to move on.

ISO800, F5.6, 1/400sec
ISO800, F5.6, 1/400sec

My photo buddy then spotted their sudden movement, I was surprise I had spotted them first, curiosity got the better of him and he went to see what they were, which means that my photo opportunity was quickly over.

ISO800, F5.6, 1/160sec
ISO800, F5.6, 1/160sec

I was left thinking on the remainder of the walk I would spot some more deer, but only ponies today, but it was still a lovely walk and I was glad I had my camera at the ready!

ISO800, F5.6, 1/160sec
ISO800, F5.6, 1/160sec
One thought on “Day 205 – Camera at the Ready

  1. A photo is a captured one-second moment in time (or something similar to that cliche’). These “seconds” are wonderful! Thank you for the lesson on always carry the camera, and thank you for sharing!

    Like

Comments are closed.