Day 207 – I saw a Heron

Today on my walk I saw a Heron, I would have loved to stay and watch it, but with two dogs and one teen on a mission there really was not enough time to take advantage of another great photo opportunity.

ISO100, F5.6, 1/500 sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/500 sec

On “chimping” my image – I realised that although I had deliberately over exposed the image, the most distracting aspect of the photo was the red reflection in the water. It took me a while to work out what it was, there was no red safety sign nearby and the Heron was in the middle of the nature reserve … then I realised it  was the reflection of a Union Jack flag which was on the roof of the building on the other side of the water … the only thing I could do was move my feet away, so that it was no longer in shot.

ISO100, F5.6, 1/500 sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/500 sec

This photo was much better, but I wanted added interest … I wanted to capture the Heron doing something. He didn’t … my teen walked off with the dogs, and then got bored and wanted me to continue walking…. so I did and then you guessed it …

ISO100, F5.6, 1/640 sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/640 sec

The Heron caught a fish … I was much further away, not at such a great angle – but I think the fish was a rather large eel as I had time to lift the camera, focus and take the shot. I wish I was allowed to wait it out … but on the other hand it is lovely to have company on a walk, chat and share news …. so maybe I will get another chance at this.

From my new position, I then spotted a second Heron, just watching – in the traditional “bird on a stick” pose … and I decided to capture that moment too – two heron’s on one walk, I was impressed!

ISO100, F5.6, 1/500 sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/500 sec
