Day 209 – Mary Poppins

Today I thought I would have a go at a simple composite image – so today I am going to be Mary Poppins, the children’s nanny who can fly over London just by raising her umbrella in the sky. I am sadly not off to London, but instead I am going to have a go at flying in my own back garden.

My set up today includes:

  • A tripod
  • 17-70mm lens – set on a wide angle
  • a remote camera release
  • Me and my umbrella!
ISO100, F8, 1/250 sec
ISO100, F8, 1/250 sec
ISO100, F8, 1/250 sec
ISO100, F8, 1/250 sec

I took the two Raw Images into LightRoom first and made some alterations. I increased the clairty, edited the exposure, and added some definition to the sky so it had some colour. I cropped them slightly and then I took the images over to Photoshop where I tidied up the messy lawn slightly, added a fake shadow, a bit of bluring, some dodge and burn after I had  joined the images together… so I can be Mary Poppins for the day …what do you think?

Composite Image with edits in Lightroom and Photoshop
Composite Image with edits in Lightroom and Photoshop
4 thoughts on “Day 209 – Mary Poppins

  1. I love the idea of this, but to me the shadow seems wrong, I think it is because there are no feet, and generally shadows are attached to the object.
    Also, I would probably have taken out the ball, as the shadow would be over that too.

    Like

Comments are closed.